Choose style:

Author Topic: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com? (SOLVED)  (Read 2998 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1803
  • Karma: 472
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com? (SOLVED)
« on: May 03, 2016, 06:19:26 am »
Hi everyone,

I have often wanted to read articles at www.linuxlinks.com (found during my daily reading of www.lxer.com), but their web pages never load for me.  :-\ Is this a problem because I am in Germany or do others also have trouble browsing the website?

Regards,

-- Slim
« Last Edit: May 03, 2016, 10:43:26 am by Slim.Fatz »
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline GNULINUX

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 987
  • Karma: 311
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Six (x64)
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2016, 06:33:56 am »
Doesn't load for me either...

Is this the same?
Code: [Select]
http://www.linuxlinks.com/
Greets!  ;)
Peppermint 6  (x64)   -   Windows 7 Ultimate SP1  (x64)
Running different OS flavors in VirtualBox, just for fun!

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2016, 06:34:02 am »
Hi everyone,

I have often wanted to read articles at linuxlinks.com (found during my daily reading of lxer.com), but their web pages never load for me.  :-\ Is this a problem because I am in Germany or do others also have trouble browsing the website?

Regards,

-- Slim
They're working for me here in The Netherlands.  The links you provided aren't working.  They just open a tab with about:blank.  I had to manually type them in.  Have you tried changing your DNS settings?  Maybe that'll fix it  :-\.
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2016, 06:35:54 am »
Doesn't load for me either...

Is this the same?
Code: [Select]
http://www.linuxlinks.com/
Greets!  ;)
That works fine for me too  :-\.
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26103
  • Karma: 2843
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2016, 06:58:14 am »
@slim.fatz

I've fixed the URL tags in your original posting ;)

and...

Yeah the http://www.linuxlinks.com site loads fine for me too .. so the problem appears to be at your end.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2016, 07:00:25 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1803
  • Karma: 472
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2016, 08:56:38 am »
@everyone

It's "no go" here. Also not with the Google DNS server.  :( Browsers just show a white blank page and in the tab it indicates that they are trying to contact the server -- until eventually even that stops and all I get is a blank new tab ... echt Scheiße!

Regards,

-- Slim


"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3111
  • Karma: 565
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2016, 09:00:50 am »
@everyone

It's "no go" here. Also not with the Google DNS server.  :( Browsers just show a white blank page and in the tab it indicates that they are trying to contact the server -- until eventually even that stops and all I get is a blank new tab ... echt Scheiße!

Regards,

-- Slim

I take it you have not got any crazy hard block this until I tell you scripts/extensions/addons running ?  Cos it's working oh here in the UK using google   8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4 DNS
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadrippe 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 1 x 43" 1 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P10 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1803
  • Karma: 472
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2016, 09:20:26 am »
@zebedeeboss,

No, nothing like that installed. I even installed several fresh browsers that have no plugins: same result (so I purged them all, as I really would otherwise never use them).  :-\ BTW: same DNS here: 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

Regards,

--Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline scifidude79

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 863
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2016, 09:34:14 am »
Wow, that's weird.  I wonder why it's not working for you.  (works fine here)  Maybe your ISP has it blocked?  I've heard of that happening.

Offline emegra

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1910
  • Karma: 412
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 64bit
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2016, 09:48:01 am »
Working fine here :)




Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2016, 09:48:55 am »
@zebedeeboss,

No, nothing like that installed. I even installed several fresh browsers that have no plugins: same result (so I purged them all, as I really would otherwise never use them).  :-\ BTW: same DNS here: 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

Regards,

--Slim
A month or so ago I couldn't get the SuperRepo to install in my Kodi app.  It was having none of it.  I was using the Google DNS service.  I swapped over to openDNS and bingo, it installed without an issue.  Here are the primary and secondary IP address, if you want to give it a try:
Code: [Select]
208.67.222.222,208.67.220.220
Weird eh  :-\.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2016, 10:39:05 am by AndyInMokum »
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3111
  • Karma: 565
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2016, 09:55:51 am »
Code: [Select]
Google DNS  8.8.8.8    8.8.4.4
Yandex DNS  77.88.8.8   77.88.8.1  Safe(Children)  77.88.8.88   77.88.8.2
Level 3   4.2.2.2   4.2.2.4
OpenDNS   208.67.222.222   208.67.220.220
Following a recent post by perknh - I put together for myself the above list of DNS servers that work well for me when google doesn't (it sometimes goes pearshaped for a couple of hours) it might help Slim in his current predicament

Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadrippe 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 1 x 43" 1 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P10 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline GNULINUX

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 987
  • Karma: 311
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Six (x64)
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2016, 10:03:34 am »
Could you test following link?

http://66.132.169.16/

Greets!
Peppermint 6  (x64)   -   Windows 7 Ultimate SP1  (x64)
Running different OS flavors in VirtualBox, just for fun!

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2016, 10:21:56 am »
Could you test following link?

http://66.132.169.16/

Greets!
Works fine here: http://www.linuxlinks.com/ is what it opens as  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1803
  • Karma: 472
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Can anyone browse LinuxLinks.com?
« Reply #14 on: May 03, 2016, 10:22:59 am »
Could you test following link?

http://66.132.169.16/


Same problem: nothing appears. I will try the openDNS next (if that does not work, I assume that it might actually be my ISP that is blocking it -- although that would surprise me). Will be back soon with a result ...

Regards,

-- Slim
« Last Edit: May 03, 2016, 11:42:45 am by Slim.Fatz »
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome