Author Topic: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]  (Read 14030 times)

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4024
  • Karma: 377
  • Soy un huevo, nada más.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #30 on: April 30, 2016, 08:52:44 am »
I just use the Flashblock plugin.  In the Flashbock preferences, you might want to uncheck the disable HTML5 video.  That way, these will automatically start.   There are other Flash blocking plugins too.  Have a play around.   I find it a great solution  ;).

Hi AndyInMokum,

I installed Flashblock (American version), but for whatever reason, I was not able to open or configure it.  After that I found an extension called Flash Control, and it has this list: 

Disable Flash Control
Block Adobe Flash (Checked by default)
Block HTML5 Video (I unchecked this)
Block HTML5 Audio (Question mark ?  Don't know what to do about this one.)
Block Hidden HTML5 Audio
Override Ajax Anchor [1]
 ([1] Applicable ONLY to Youtube and Hulu. (I don't know what this means.)

I think I'm good here, though.  Thank you!  :) 

If you're not bothering installing flasplugin-installer (flashplayer for firefox) then there's no need for flashblock

personally I *do* have flashing-installer, but I stop flash from being loaded with flashblock .. it allows a more fine grained approach than the browsers flash 'switch' (which is more on/off for the whole page), flashblock blocks individual flash elements on a page from loading unless you click on them, so you can choose to say watch a flash video without allowing the flash adverts on the same page.

Maybe because I had enabled Canonical Partners, I found I had flashplugin-installer already installed --thank goodness!  As I had mentioned to Andy above, I could not open Flash Block or configure it at all --said something about being an American version.

I've enabled  HTML5 video.  I believe that HTML5 is a safe and secure technology and that all HTML5 formats can be enabled.


No. It's not officially supported, it's a Linux workaround. It WILL be updated as normal with your other packages.


I found a place in Firefox where I can check a box and have add-ons updated automatically.  And it might have be already checked by default, I don't recall.


Thank you, everyone within this thread, for your help, suggestions, and insights here.  That was an adventure.  But, I'll still be even happier when Flash goes away for good.  It's a real PITA --if you know what I mean! *  ;)

perknh

* I mean "Plug in the Answer", or course!  ;D
[T]here are a lot of people happily running Peppermint ICE which hasn't been receiving ANY updates for a while now .. and I personally would STILL consider that MUCH more secure than any version of Windows with up-to-date AV/Anti-malware ;)

--  PCNetSpec, Cornwall, Eng.  Dec 03, 2013 5:18 pm

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #31 on: April 30, 2016, 03:39:24 pm »
It looks like you're hot to trot  ;).  I'd enable anything HTML5.  The HTML5 audio option, I guess is for sites like, the BBC iPlayer Radio.   Hopefully, sites like this will start being responsible and drop Flash soon.  Unfortunately, persuading people and corporations to quit using Flash, is harder than weaning a junkie off heroin.  There's no logical reason for it's continued use.  It's an unwanted imposition that's long overdue retirement  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2180
  • Karma: 457
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #32 on: April 30, 2016, 03:54:18 pm »
Andy, incidentally I discovered that you can listen to live BBC radio in VLC. You can just open it, press Play and put the link into the Network tab.

http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/mp3.asp

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #33 on: April 30, 2016, 04:18:07 pm »
Andy, incidentally I discovered that you can listen to live BBC radio in VLC. You can just open it, press Play and put the link into the Network tab.

http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/mp3.asp
You know what, I've never looked into these VLC functions.  It's always been something I'm going to do.  I'll now have to look into this.  This is very interesting, thanks for the link  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4024
  • Karma: 377
  • Soy un huevo, nada más.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #34 on: April 30, 2016, 04:51:31 pm »
This has been an interesting thread.  I haven't made a commitment to Firefox myself yet (That's a big leap for me.),  but I am discovering its virtues.  I wonder if I'll be able to get BBC on this side of the Big Pond.  I suppose it wouldn't surprise you guys to learn that I'm a dedicated Public Radio listener myself --New Hampshire Radio and National Public Radio M-F, and the show On the Media on Sundays!  ;)

Also I never even knew there was such a thing as Hidden HTML5 Audio until today.  I'll search our Peppermint DDG about that one really soon.

Now my friend's Peppermint 6 installation will have Flash when he needs it, but without much of the mischief Flash can cause.  I really appreciate all of the help I got here.

Thank you. 

perknh
[T]here are a lot of people happily running Peppermint ICE which hasn't been receiving ANY updates for a while now .. and I personally would STILL consider that MUCH more secure than any version of Windows with up-to-date AV/Anti-malware ;)

--  PCNetSpec, Cornwall, Eng.  Dec 03, 2013 5:18 pm

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #35 on: April 30, 2016, 05:02:17 pm »
Andy, incidentally I discovered that you can listen to live BBC radio in VLC. You can just open it, press Play and put the link into the Network tab.

http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/mp3.asp
You know what, I've never looked into these VLC functions.  It's always been something I'm going to do.  I'll now have to look into this.  This is very interesting, thanks for the link  ;).
It also works really well using Clementine.  I have to use a UK VPN.  However, that's not an issue.  It's streaming 128k stereo without a hitch and the sound quality is top notch thanks to the Clementine Audio Player.  The 320k stereo is a bit choppy.  That's due to my ISP though.  Curse KPN, they suck with their throttling.  Thanks for the inspiration  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2180
  • Karma: 457
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #36 on: April 30, 2016, 05:23:05 pm »
It also works really well using Clementine.  I have to use a UK VPN.  However, that's not an issue.  It's streaming 128k stereo without a hitch and the sound quality is top notch thanks to the Clementine Audio Player.  The 320k stereo is a bit choppy.  That's due to my ISP though.  Curse KPN, they suck with their throttling.  Thanks for the inspiration  ;).

I don't have to use a VPN in Poland, however when the football commentary comes on I get cut off with a looped message about "rights reasons".

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #37 on: April 30, 2016, 05:25:36 pm »
This has been an interesting thread.  I haven't made a commitment to Firefox myself yet (That's a big leap for me.),  but I am discovering its virtues.  I wonder if I'll be able to get BBC on this side of the Big Pond.  I suppose it wouldn't surprise you guys to learn that I'm a dedicated Public Radio listener myself --New Hampshire Radio and National Public Radio M-F, and the show On the Media on Sundays!  ;)

Also I never even knew there was such a thing as Hidden HTML5 Audio until today.  I'll search our Peppermint DDG about that one really soon.

Now my friend's Peppermint 6 installation will have Flash when he needs it, but without much of the mischief Flash can cause.  I really appreciate all of the help I got here.

Thank you. 

perknh
If you're just listening to the radio, you'll be able to use the, BBC iPlayer Radio as there's no restrictions: http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio,  If you want to view TV shows, you'll need to use a UK proxy server or a UK VPN.  You should also have a UK TV License: http://www.tvlicensing.co.uk/.  This is the way the BBC is funded - supposedly  :-X.  Naturally, because you live abroad, the cheque is held up in the post >:D!!
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4024
  • Karma: 377
  • Soy un huevo, nada más.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #38 on: April 30, 2016, 06:39:27 pm »
This is the way the BBC is funded - supposedly  :-X.  Naturally, because you live abroad, the cheque is held up in the post >:D!!

I hear you, Andy.  The checks only go in one direction around here anyway, and that's outbound.  ;D

But, yes, you are right, I do get BBC radio.  And thank you for these other links:  These are great!

Oh, by the way, Flash Control is better in Firefox than in Chromium.  There are more options.

Wish I could get rid of the system title bar and borders in Firefox, as well as widen and darken the font on the bookmarks bar.  I have to admit, Firefox does have a lot going for it.

perknh
[T]here are a lot of people happily running Peppermint ICE which hasn't been receiving ANY updates for a while now .. and I personally would STILL consider that MUCH more secure than any version of Windows with up-to-date AV/Anti-malware ;)

--  PCNetSpec, Cornwall, Eng.  Dec 03, 2013 5:18 pm

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #39 on: April 30, 2016, 08:21:14 pm »
Wish I could get rid of the system title bar and borders in Firefox, as well as widen and darken the font on the bookmarks bar.  I have to admit, Firefox does have a lot going for it.

Not quite sure what you mean by "borders", but if you want some extra screen real-estate in Firefox, here's 2 addons for you

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-GB/firefox/addon/hide-caption-titlebar-plus-sma/
or for Americans
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/hide-caption-titlebar-plus-sma/

and

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-GB/firefox/addon/bookmark-autohider/
or for Americans
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/bookmark-autohider/

The results...

(click image to enlarge)

That's about the same size as Chrome at thee top (without the bookmarks bar) .. and if you keep the bookmarks bar in both, Firefox bookmarks bar is thinner than Chromes.
You don't loose the menu's either .. that's what that "Firefox" buttons for :)

There's a jazzilion addons and themes for Firefox .. WAY more than Chrome.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2016, 08:24:32 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5880
  • Karma: 1154
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #40 on: May 01, 2016, 12:03:46 pm »
There's a jazzilion addons and themes for Firefox .. WAY more than Chrome.

Heh !  Seems like we've always had the same predilection for dark themes    ;D

And, you're right !  Not only are there a jazzillion addons for Fx, but many of them are unique - the DTA download manager and ability to run tabs on the bottom come to mind.  It just requires some discovery time, finding out what works for you, and what doesn't.

IMO, almost everything in Fx needs to be scaled, e.g. everything appears too large by default.  It's as if Fx is designed for the visually impaired, but that's probably just me.

Anyway, here's how I roll with Fx ...






Offline Alex

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
  • Karma: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #41 on: May 01, 2016, 12:13:38 pm »
Hi, VinDsl.
You use a lot of addons. One or two addons are enough. Ublock origin is better than Adblock Plus.
Cheers.

Offline VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5880
  • Karma: 1154
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #42 on: May 01, 2016, 12:37:38 pm »
Ublock origin is better than Adblock Plus.

Hi Alex

Thanks !  I'm a Chromium fanboi, sooo ...

I use Fx for testing purposes mostly, and for the occasional critical HTTP download. 

Thunderbird is still a joy though.   :)

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4024
  • Karma: 377
  • Soy un huevo, nada más.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #43 on: May 01, 2016, 04:19:08 pm »
Not quite sure what you mean by "borders", but if you want some extra screen real-estate in Firefox, here's 2 addons for you...

There's a jazzilion addons and themes for Firefox .. WAY more than Chrome.

This has been a bit an eyeopener for me.  First of all, CBS News, believe it or not, still uses Flash.  But I've never been able to get CBS News to work for me in Chromium no matter what, but in Firefox, even with security add-ons (Flashblock and Privacy Badger), CBS News comes to life for me.  And, for me, this is a significant discovery.  This CBS News enigma intrigues me.  Why, on my computer at least, do the CBS News videos play in Firefox, but not in Chromium?  Did I block some precious little cookie way back when in Chromium, but now have no idea which one it might be?  I don't know.  I'll reality test this cookie theory of mine by unsyncing my Google account to see what happens.  So much for that theory, I've blocked nothing other than third-party cookies and site data, and unchecking that box, logging out and then logging back in, does not make any difference at all  I get no CBS News in Chromium. * :-\

Also, Flash Control, that works fine on my computer seems to slow things to a crawl, in Firefox, on my friend's computer.  I put standard Flashblock on his computer today, and it's working much better.  Also, Flashblock works today in Firefox on my computer too.  I must have experienced a bad installation yesterday --nothing more than that.  :)

@PCNetSpec

Yes, your link helped with the boarder problem I had mentioned.  I just copied and pasted that phrase 'title bar and boarders' from Chromium browser:

Under Settings > Appearance > Use system title bar and boarders --that's all I meant by that.  I don't really know what Chromium/Chrome means by "boarders" either.  The phrase "system title bar" seems sufficient to me.

Yes, there are a jazzilion add-ons in Firefox.  I'm impressed with the selection.  Many of these cannot be found in Chrome's store, so I see.

@VInDSL  I have have to scale nearly everything up site by site in Firefox, but after a while, I've scaled up pretty much everything I need.


* I know this makes little sense, I can get CBS News in Opera.

« Last Edit: May 01, 2016, 06:49:59 pm by perknh »
[T]here are a lot of people happily running Peppermint ICE which hasn't been receiving ANY updates for a while now .. and I personally would STILL consider that MUCH more secure than any version of Windows with up-to-date AV/Anti-malware ;)

--  PCNetSpec, Cornwall, Eng.  Dec 03, 2013 5:18 pm

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #44 on: May 02, 2016, 12:34:25 pm »
One or two addons are enough.

Huh  ???

I use about 15 .. that's "enough" for me .. but it may be too many or not enough for someone else
« Last Edit: May 02, 2016, 12:36:23 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec