Choose style:

Author Topic: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]  (Read 11902 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Alex

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • Karma: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #45 on: May 01, 2016, 03:13:38 pm »
Hi, VinDsl.
You use a lot of addons. One or two addons are enough. Ublock origin is better than Adblock Plus.
Cheers.

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5443
  • Karma: 957
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #46 on: May 01, 2016, 03:37:38 pm »
Ublock origin is better than Adblock Plus.

Hi Alex

Thanks !  I'm a Chromium fanboi, sooo ...

I use Fx for testing purposes mostly, and for the occasional critical HTTP download. 

Thunderbird is still a joy though.   :)

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3876
  • Karma: 303
  • Soy un huevo, nada más.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #47 on: May 01, 2016, 07:19:08 pm »
Not quite sure what you mean by "borders", but if you want some extra screen real-estate in Firefox, here's 2 addons for you...

There's a jazzilion addons and themes for Firefox .. WAY more than Chrome.

This has been a bit an eyeopener for me.  First of all, CBS News, believe it or not, still uses Flash.  But I've never been able to get CBS News to work for me in Chromium no matter what, but in Firefox, even with security add-ons (Flashblock and Privacy Badger), CBS News comes to life for me.  And, for me, this is a significant discovery.  This CBS News enigma intrigues me.  Why, on my computer at least, do the CBS News videos play in Firefox, but not in Chromium?  Did I block some precious little cookie way back when in Chromium, but now have no idea which one it might be?  I don't know.  I'll reality test this cookie theory of mine by unsyncing my Google account to see what happens.  So much for that theory, I've blocked nothing other than third-party cookies and site data, and unchecking that box, logging out and then logging back in, does not make any difference at all  I get no CBS News in Chromium. * :-\

Also, Flash Control, that works fine on my computer seems to slow things to a crawl, in Firefox, on my friend's computer.  I put standard Flashblock on his computer today, and it's working much better.  Also, Flashblock works today in Firefox on my computer too.  I must have experienced a bad installation yesterday --nothing more than that.  :)

@PCNetSpec

Yes, your link helped with the boarder problem I had mentioned.  I just copied and pasted that phrase 'title bar and boarders' from Chromium browser:

Under Settings > Appearance > Use system title bar and boarders --that's all I meant by that.  I don't really know what Chromium/Chrome means by "boarders" either.  The phrase "system title bar" seems sufficient to me.

Yes, there are a jazzilion add-ons in Firefox.  I'm impressed with the selection.  Many of these cannot be found in Chrome's store, so I see.

@VInDSL  I have have to scale nearly everything up site by site in Firefox, but after a while, I've scaled up pretty much everything I need.


* I know this makes little sense, I can get CBS News in Opera.

« Last Edit: May 01, 2016, 09:49:59 pm by perknh »
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;).  -- AndyInMokum

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26277
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Updating Pepperflash After Fresh Installaion [SOLVED]
« Reply #48 on: May 02, 2016, 03:34:25 pm »
One or two addons are enough.

Huh  ???

I use about 15 .. that's "enough" for me .. but it may be too many or not enough for someone else
« Last Edit: May 02, 2016, 03:36:23 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec