Choose style:

Author Topic: Why Screen Space is less in LXDE than Peppermint? How to improve it? [Closed]  (Read 2190 times)

harishpathangay

Hi,
I am a Linux newbie. I am using Peppermint OS and noticed one thing.

Why Screen Space is less in LXDE than Peppermint?  and How to improve it?
I used lxrandr and find that both have same screen resolution - 1280x800

URL for Images :
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bwm0GFUcfiBscU95bkxuNmRrbDg/view?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bwm0GFUcfiBsb0c1XzBPZFRJaVk/view?usp=sharing

How to attach images to this topic?

Thanks,
Harish Pathangay
« Last Edit: March 29, 2016, 02:38:16 am by harishpathangay »

Offline Capivara

• Devoted To Daemons & Penguins
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6, 7
Re: Why Screen Space is less in LXDE than Peppermint? How to improve it?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2016, 01:11:05 pm »
All I can see is that your desktop icons seem slightly bigger, and spacing between them is larger for sure. That's why 9 icons fit vertically on the Peppermint desktop, vs 7 on the other system. The LXDE Desktop Environment makes use of PCManFM to manage the desktop. In order to change the size of the desktop icons you need to access PCManFM Preferences and set a smaller icon size. Open PCManFM and Go to Menu → Edit → Preferences → Display tab

I have no way of checking at the moment, I don't run the original LXDE Desktop anymore. I'm sure someone else can/will correct me if necessary.

Normally I post images to imgur.com an put the link between img tags.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2016, 02:53:00 pm by Capivara »
If you like Linux, raise your hand. If you don't, raise your standards.

Offline PCNetSpec

• Administrator
  • Hero
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2016, 03:04:25 pm »
Already explained in your other topic  :)