Choose style:

Author Topic: Check if your CPU is 64-bit or 32-bit  (Read 2205 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Check if your CPU is 64-bit or 32-bit
« on: March 19, 2016, 05:49:27 am »
Hi everyone, how's it going?  In the forum we hear many times the question, "is your system 32-bit or 64-bit?"  If you don't know or are unsure.  The following instructions will give you a definitive answer.  Your machine's CPU can and does performs multiple operations.  These are indicated by flags.  The flag that indicates a CPU is 64-bit is lm, (long mode).

Open a terminal window with the following keystrokes:  Ctrl+Alt+t.  Enter the following command into the terminal window.

TipLinux is case sensitive.  To reduce the possibility of typographical errors, please click on the Code: [Select] function below to highlight the contents. Click on the centre mouse button/wheel while the mouse cursor is in the terminal window to paste the contents.
Code: [Select]
grep flags /proc/cpuinfo
Hit enter.  The output should be similar to this:
Code: [Select]
andy@andy-Latitude-E6410 ~ $ grep flags /proc/cpuinfo
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt aes lahf_lm ida arat dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt aes lahf_lm ida arat dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt aes lahf_lm ida arat dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt aes lahf_lm ida arat dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
andy@andy-Latitude-E6410 ~ $
My machine's CPU has four cores, so the output is repeated four times.  Your output will vary according to the number of core your CPU has.  Scroll horizontally across the page.  You'll notice an lm flag in each of the cores.  This indicates that my CPU is 64-bit.

Another way to check now that you know you're looking for the lm flag, is to run the following command:
Code: [Select]
grep -o -w 'lm' /proc/cpuinfo | sort -u
This command specifically searches for the lm flag.  The output is nice and simple.  If it's there, there'll be an output.  If it's not there, there'll be no output.  Here's the output from my machine:
Code: [Select]
andy@andy-Latitude-E6410 ~ $ grep -o -w 'lm' /proc/cpuinfo | sort -u
lm
andy@andy-Latitude-E6410 ~ $
I have an lm output, indicating that my CPU is 64-bit.  You'll find it very useful to use these commands while you're testing Peppermint with a 32-bit Live session, (if you're running a 64-bit Live session, you already know your machine's CPU supports 64-bit).  I hope this helps - have fun  ;)!
« Last Edit: March 19, 2016, 06:43:08 am by AndyInMokum »
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25725
  • Karma: 2822
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Check if your CPU is 64-bit or 32-bit
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2016, 02:31:26 pm »
Andy's excellent tutorial above explains how to tell if your HARDWARE (CPU) is 64bit, but as you can also run 32bit Linux on 64bit hardware you may not be sure if you're currently running 32bit or 64bit Peppermint .. to find out run this command:
Code: [Select]
uname -m
If the output is amd_64, you have a 64-bit version of Peppermint.

If the output is i386 or or i686, you have a 32-bit version of Peppermint.

In short:-

Andy's instruction tell you if your machine is *capable* of running 64bit and/or 32bit .. or if the long mode (lm) flag is missing only 32bit.

the command above tells you which OS architecture you currently have installed.



Code: [Select]
dpkg --print-architecture
is another way to discover your OS architecture.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2016, 02:38:08 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1779
  • Karma: 470
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Check if your CPU is 64-bit or 32-bit
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2016, 04:19:28 am »
Hi AndyInMokum,

Nice work and a handy tutorial!  :)

However, I have one suggestion for checking whether the CPU is 64 bit or 32 bit: your command line version is rather complex and can easily fail due to typing errors by a user.  :-[

The following command line method is somewhat simpler and would probably have less chance of being incorrectly entered:   8)

Code: [Select]
lscpu | grep op-mode

If the machine's CPU is 64 bit the output will look like this:

Code: [Select]
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit

and if the CPU is 32 bit it will look like this:

Code: [Select]
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Check if your CPU is 64-bit or 32-bit
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2016, 06:06:58 am »
Hi AndyInMokum,

Nice work and a handy tutorial!  :)

However, I have one suggestion for checking whether the CPU is 64 bit or 32 bit: your command line version is rather complex and can easily fail due to typing errors by a user.  :-[

The following command line method is somewhat simpler and would probably have less chance of being incorrectly entered:   8)

Code: [Select]
lscpu | grep op-mode

If the machine's CPU is 64 bit the output will look like this:

Code: [Select]
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit

and if the CPU is 32 bit it will look like this:

Code: [Select]
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit

Regards,

-- Slim
Good one Slim.  I think people are now spoilt for choice.  All of them work too  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25725
  • Karma: 2822
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Check if your CPU is 64-bit or 32-bit
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2016, 11:13:22 am »
command line version is rather complex and can easily fail due to typing errors by a user.  :-[

That's what copy/paste is for :)

Though the more options the better.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline scifidude79

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 863
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Check if your CPU is 64-bit or 32-bit
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2016, 11:52:24 am »
Ah, but if you just copy and paste CLI commands from this forum, you'll never remember any of them later.  Typing them yourself helps memory.

Offline Capivara

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
  • Karma: 62
  • Devoted To Daemons & Penguins
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6, 7
Re: Check if your CPU is 64-bit or 32-bit
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2016, 01:46:55 pm »
Hmm, lscpu | grep op-mode doesn't return anything here (Mint 17.1 MATE). No error msg either.
If you like Linux, raise your hand. If you don't, raise your standards.

Offline Capivara

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
  • Karma: 62
  • Devoted To Daemons & Penguins
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6, 7
Re: Check if your CPU is 64-bit or 32-bit
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2016, 03:58:26 pm »
Not on Peppermin Six either. but just typing lscpu spits out this:

Code: [Select]
hans@PeppermintSix-A780L3C~ $ lscpu
Architecture:          x86_64
CPU-modus(sen):        32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:            Little Endian
CPU(s):                2
On-line CPU(s) list:   0,1
Draden per kern:       1
Kern(en) per voet:     2
Socket(s):             1
NUMA-node(s):          1
Producent-ID:          AuthenticAMD
CPU-familie:           16
Model:                 6
Stepping:              3
CPU-frequentie (MHz):  800.000
BogoMIPS:              5600.33
Virtualisatie:         AMD-V
L1d-cache:             64K
L1i-cache:             64K
L2-cache:              1024K
NUMA node0 CPU(s):     0,1
hans@PeppermintSix-A780L3C ~ $

So, it depends on the language. For Dutch, it should be:

Code: [Select]
lscpu | grep CPU-modus
« Last Edit: March 22, 2016, 04:05:08 pm by Capivara »
If you like Linux, raise your hand. If you don't, raise your standards.

Offline GNULINUX

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 987
  • Karma: 311
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Six (x64)
Re: Check if your CPU is 64-bit or 32-bit
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2016, 05:15:05 pm »
Indeed Capivara, apparently it's language dependent...  ;)

Output on a Dutch Peppermint 6 :
Code: [Select]
peppermint@peppermint-home ~ $ lscpu | grep op-mode
peppermint@peppermint-home ~ $ lscpu | grep CPU-modus
CPU-modus(sen):        32-bit, 64-bit
peppermint@peppermint-home ~ $ lscpu
Architecture:          x86_64
CPU-modus(sen):        32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:            Little Endian
CPU(s):                8
On-line CPU(s) list:   0-7
Draden per kern:       2
Kern(en) per voet:     4
Socket(s):             1
NUMA-node(s):          1
Producent-ID:          GenuineIntel
CPU-familie:           6
Model:                 58
Stepping:              9
CPU-frequentie (MHz):  1600.257
BogoMIPS:              6784.59
Virtualisatie:         VT-x
L1d-cache:             32K
L1i-cache:             32K
L2-cache:              256K
L3-cache:              8192K
NUMA node0 CPU(s):     0-7
peppermint@peppermint-home ~ $

All other previous mentioned commands work as expected!  8)
Peppermint 6  (x64)   -   Windows 7 Ultimate SP1  (x64)
Running different OS flavors in VirtualBox, just for fun!

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1779
  • Karma: 470
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Check if your CPU is 64-bit or 32-bit
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2016, 06:41:48 pm »
Now that is interesting! Thanks for catching that, Capivara;)

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25725
  • Karma: 2822
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Check if your CPU is 64-bit or 32-bit
« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2016, 07:54:57 pm »
Maybe
Code: [Select]
lscpu | grep bit
would make more sense then ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline GNULINUX

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 987
  • Karma: 311
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Six (x64)
Re: Check if your CPU is 64-bit or 32-bit
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2016, 04:56:07 am »
Yep, that did it!  ;)

On a Dutch Peppermint 6 :
Code: [Select]
peppermint@peppermint-home ~ $ lscpu | grep bit
CPU-modus(sen):        32-bit, 64-bit
peppermint@peppermint-home ~ $

We are being spoiled with commands...  ;D
Peppermint 6  (x64)   -   Windows 7 Ultimate SP1  (x64)
Running different OS flavors in VirtualBox, just for fun!