Choose style:

Author Topic: Problem with new version of KODI - SOLVED  (Read 1779 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: 125
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Problem with new version of KODI - SOLVED
« on: February 25, 2016, 08:30:24 pm »
When I try to use the new version of Kodi, the mouse does not show on the Kodi screen and the Kodi screen seems to be a bit jumbled.  Is there a fix for this?  If not, how could I downgrade to the previous version 15 of Kodi?  The old version worked without this problem.  Thanks.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2016, 02:10:04 pm by jlschwartz »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26267
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Problem with new version of KODI
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2016, 10:15:10 pm »
The mouse is actually active, you just can't see it (but only on the Aeon Nox skin)....

You'll have to move the mouse (or use the keyboard) until you can click on

System > Appearance

then change the skin to "Confluence"

Okay, now you should be able to see your mouse .. now you need to remove and reinstall the Aeon Nox skin .. so go back to

System > Add-ons > my add-ons > Look and feel > Skin

click
Aeon Nox > Uninstall
and uninstall it

Now go to
System > Add-ons > Install from repository > Kodi Add-on repository > Look and feel > Skin > Aeon Nox > Install

It should ask if you want to switch to the skin .. say YES

it should then ask if you want to keep the skin .. say YES



If it doesn't .. go back to
System > Appearance

and switch to the Aeon Nox skin



Your mouse should now work with the Aeon Nox skin.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2016, 10:22:22 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: 125
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Problem with new version of KODI
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2016, 12:14:36 pm »
Thanks a lot for the help.  In case you don't know it, I found out that if you have installed plugins in the old version, they don't always work in the new version of Kodi.  In which case you have to find new ones.  That's a pain.  Thanks again.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26267
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Problem with new version of KODI
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2016, 01:58:02 pm »
No problem.

If the above solved the problem, please remember to mark the topic solved.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Problem with new version of KODI
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2016, 05:24:34 pm »
Thanks a lot for the help.  In case you don't know it, I found out that if you have installed plugins in the old version, they don't always work in the new version of Kodi.  In which case you have to find new ones.  That's a pain.  Thanks again.
If you're using a third party unofficial repos like, Super Repo: (http://srp/nu/).  It may be wise to uninstall, or disable it.  Navigate to: SYSTEM > Settings > Add-ons > Install from repository > .SuperRepo All [Isengard][v7].  Right click on it and Select: Add-on Information.  You're able to uninstall it from here.

Now navigate/return to: Add-ons and navigate to: Install from zip file > .SuperRepo All > Jarvis.  Install that.  That should bring you up to speed with that repo.  Fortunately, this provider supplies an upgrade path.

Note: .SuperRepo is a personal label, yours is likely to differ.

Any other third party repos, you'll have to find any manual update paths, if available.

Updating from on version of Kodi to another with third party repos installed is very, "Wild West".  It can take a few weeks for the dust to settle, while providers update their servers.  It's a real pain  >:(.  Good luck with it, I'm also having similar issues  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: 125
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Problem with new version of KODI - SOLVED
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2016, 09:39:10 am »
Andy, I go to the kodicommunity site and get the plugins/add-ons  from the sources discussed there.  I don't use Super Repo.  Thanks.