Author Topic: Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail (Solved) [Not Solvable for SiS drivers]  (Read 12032 times)

Offline Brotherred

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: 11
  • No0b
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Pep 8 on 386, Pep 10 on AMD 64
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #30 on: February 22, 2016, 01:42:03 pm »
It doesn't work. It will not resume from hibernate. I had to hard reset. Again I have that RAM module being shipped.

Sent from my C6530N using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: February 22, 2016, 01:43:38 pm by Brotherred »
"Those that don't know pay for it. My currency is pride"

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26437
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #31 on: February 22, 2016, 02:28:10 pm »
run:
Code: [Select]
sudo gedit /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resumeI'm going to guess it currently reads
Code: [Select]
RESUME=UUID=8f30a6d1-77c3-4e42-8d28-9aa0178fc6a9if so, change it to read
Code: [Select]
RESUME=UUID=bf57c22d-4b01-4067-b3a4-3368e15d5ddcSAVE the file and exit gedit

now run:
Code: [Select]
sudo update-initramfs -uthen
Code: [Select]
sudo update-grubnow REBOOT.

Now test hibernate.

It's IMPORTANT that you REBOOT once before testing hibernate.



if it still doesn't work, post the output from:
Code: [Select]
tail /var/log/pm-suspend.log
« Last Edit: February 22, 2016, 02:50:02 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Brotherred

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: 11
  • No0b
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Pep 8 on 386, Pep 10 on AMD 64
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #32 on: February 22, 2016, 02:59:33 pm »
Code: [Select]
sudo gedit /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume

(gedit:3257): Gtk-WARNING **: Calling Inhibit failed: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.gnome.SessionManager was not provided by any .service files

 :-X Regards

After typing the code and getting that error I closed the file and then copied and pasted it from the forum and got the same error. But I am thinking now that I should make the change anyway. We will see.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2016, 03:07:06 pm by Brotherred »
"Those that don't know pay for it. My currency is pride"

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26437
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #33 on: February 22, 2016, 03:26:09 pm »
ignore that gtk warning, it's just gedit (which is a gnome app) warning that it can't find a gnome session as Peppermint doesn't use the gnome session manager .. it's normal and nothing to worry about .. just carry on with what I suggested.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Brotherred

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: 11
  • No0b
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Pep 8 on 386, Pep 10 on AMD 64
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #34 on: February 22, 2016, 03:30:23 pm »
OK I did. But what meant to say was that it was originally a empty or nonexistent file. I will post that file and the out put of the tail message, soon.

Sent from my C6530N using Tapatalk

"Those that don't know pay for it. My currency is pride"

Offline Brotherred

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: 11
  • No0b
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Pep 8 on 386, Pep 10 on AMD 64
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #35 on: February 22, 2016, 03:39:56 pm »
Agian this is the contents of the file AFTER I changed them. gedit was blank BEFORE I changed the file.

sudo gedit /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume
Code: [Select]
RESUME=UUID=bf57c22d-4b01-4067-b3a4-3368e15d5ddc
It did not work. The laptop did not resume after making those changes, starting and closing the lid.

tail /var/log/pm-supend.log
Code: [Select]
administrator@SnappyPenquen ~ $ tail /var/log/pm-supend.log
tail: cannot open ‘/var/log/pm-supend.log’ for reading: No such file or directory
administrator@SnappyPenquen ~ $ tail /var/log/pm-suspend.log

Running hook /usr/lib/pm-utils/sleep.d/99video suspend suspend:
kernel.acpi_video_flags = 0
vbetool not installed!
vbetool not installed!
vbetool not installed!
vbetool not installed!
/usr/lib/pm-utils/sleep.d/99video suspend suspend: success.

Mon Feb 22 18:14:45 EST 2016: performing suspend
administrator@SnappyPenquen ~ $

I could be wrong but this looks to be a consiquence of my not installing this system so much as copying the partitions to this drive and updating the installation from there. If I can apt-get insatll vbetool I will.

Regards
"Those that don't know pay for it. My currency is pride"

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26437
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #36 on: February 22, 2016, 03:42:43 pm »
OK what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
cat /etc/default/grub | grep GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Brotherred

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: 11
  • No0b
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Pep 8 on 386, Pep 10 on AMD 64
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #37 on: February 22, 2016, 03:58:29 pm »
Code: [Select]
administrator@SnappyPenquen ~ $ cat /etc/default/grub | grep GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
administrator@SnappyPenquen ~ $


Regards

"Those that don't know pay for it. My currency is pride"

Offline Brotherred

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: 11
  • No0b
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Pep 8 on 386, Pep 10 on AMD 64
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #38 on: February 22, 2016, 04:17:24 pm »
apt-get insatll vbetool
Fixed it. But I could not re-enable WiFi after resuming and the video is messed up on the left side. By the menu, I have what looks like two menu buttons and two mice as click on the menu. That's not ideal but they seem like new threads as well.

Regards

Sent from my C6530N using Tapatalk

Restarting restored these resulting issues. But of course they will almost certainly happen again upon hibernating. It's clear progress though!
« Last Edit: February 22, 2016, 06:45:51 pm by Brotherred »
"Those that don't know pay for it. My currency is pride"

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26437
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #39 on: February 22, 2016, 05:56:46 pm »
What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
inxi -Fand
Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C displayand
Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C networkand
Code: [Select]
lspci -vnn | grep -i net
« Last Edit: February 22, 2016, 05:58:41 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Brotherred

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: 11
  • No0b
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Pep 8 on 386, Pep 10 on AMD 64
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #40 on: February 22, 2016, 06:50:29 pm »
inxi -F
Code: [Select]
administrator@SnappyPenquen ~ $ inxi -F
System:    Host: SnappyPenquen Kernel: 3.16.0-60-generic i686 (32 bit) Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Six
Machine:   System: AVERATEC product: 6240 Series version: 0101
           Mobo: N/A model: N/A Bios: American Megatrends version: A1011SMS V1.10 12/06/04 date: 12/06/2004
CPU:       Single core Mobile AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (-UP-) cache: 512 KB flags: (lm nx pae sse sse2) clocked at 800.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 661/741/760 PCI/AGP or 662/761Gx PCIE VGA Display Adapter
           X.Org: 1.16.0 driver: vesa Resolution: 1280x768@61.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.5, 128 bits) GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.3.2
Audio:     Card: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS7012 AC'97 Sound Controller driver: snd_intel8x0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.16.0-60-generic
Network:   Card-1: Ralink RT2500 Wireless 802.11bg driver: rt2500pci
           IF: wlan2 state: up mac: 00:11:09:ae:f5:02
           Card-2: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS900 PCI Fast Ethernet driver: sis900
           IF: eth2 state: down mac: 00:0c:76:f6:b7:5c
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 80.0GB (52.6% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD800BEVE size: 80.0GB
Partition: ID: / size: 7.4G used: 703M (10%) fs: ext4 ID: /usr size: 14G used: 7.4G (56%) fs: ext4
           ID: /home size: 42G used: 30G (76%) fs: ext4 ID: /boot size: 1.4G used: 45M (4%) fs: ext4
           ID: /var size: 4.9G used: 1.7G (36%) fs: ext4
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 42.8C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 148 Uptime: 2:29 Memory: 591.9/971.4MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 1.9.17

sudo lshw -C display
Code: [Select]
administrator@SnappyPenquen ~ $ sudo lshw -C display
[sudo] password for administrator:
  *-display UNCLAIMED     
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: 661/741/760 PCI/AGP or 662/761Gx PCIE VGA Display Adapter
       vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS]
       physical id: 0
       bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
       version: 00
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 66MHz
       capabilities: pm agp agp-3.0 vga_controller cap_list
       configuration: latency=0
       resources: memory:d0000000-d7ffffff memory:dfee0000-dfefffff ioport:cc00(size=128)

sudo lshw -C network
Code: [Select]
administrator@SnappyPenquen ~ $ sudo lshw -C network
  *-network:0             
       description: Ethernet interface
       product: SiS900 PCI Fast Ethernet
       vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS]
       physical id: 4
       bus info: pci@0000:00:04.0
       logical name: eth2
       version: 91
       serial: 00:0c:76:f6:b7:5c
       size: 10Mbit/s
       capacity: 100Mbit/s
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list rom ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
       configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=sis900 driverversion=v1.08.10 Apr. 2 2006 duplex=half latency=64 link=no maxlatency=11 mingnt=52 multicast=yes port=MII speed=10Mbit/s
       resources: irq:19 ioport:d800(size=256) memory:dfffc000-dfffcfff memory:dffc0000-dffdffff
  *-network:1
       description: Wireless interface
       product: RT2500 Wireless 802.11bg
       vendor: Ralink corp.
       physical id: e
       bus info: pci@0000:00:0e.0
       logical name: wlan2
       version: 01
       serial: 00:11:09:ae:f5:02
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
       configuration: broadcast=yes driver=rt2500pci driverversion=3.16.0-60-generic firmware=N/A ip=192.168.1.181 latency=64 link=yes multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bg
       resources: irq:18 memory:dfffa000-dfffbfff

lspci -vnn | grep -i net
Code: [Select]
administrator@SnappyPenquen ~ $ lspci -vnn | grep -i net
00:04.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS900 PCI Fast Ethernet [1039:0900] (rev 91)
00:0e.0 Network controller [0280]: Ralink corp. RT2500 Wireless 802.11bg [1814:0201] (rev 01)


Regards
"Those that don't know pay for it. My currency is pride"

Offline Brotherred

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: 11
  • No0b
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Pep 8 on 386, Pep 10 on AMD 64
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #41 on: February 24, 2016, 01:16:26 pm »
The graphics and network properties listed here are still the same. Last night I logged out of the mobileme account (Now hopefully with normal sudo privileges) for what ever that means here...

Anyway I let the laptop hibernate and went to bed. When I sat down to the laptop today the login screen was distorted as described above on the left hand side. And it stayed that way when I logged in. Also the network was irreparably down, that is I mean without a restart. I tried restarting the network from the terminal, that and the resulting out put is below:

Code: [Select]
mobileme@SnappyPenquen ~ $ sudo service network-manager restart
sudo: unable to resolve host SnappyPenquen
network-manager stop/waiting
network-manager start/running, process 5064
mobileme@SnappyPenquen ~ $


So I was able to stop and  restart the network but that did not re-enable the WiFi. Are there any remedies for this? Is this the correct thread for these issues as they are connected to suspend resume?

Thanx again,
Regards
"Those that don't know pay for it. My currency is pride"

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26437
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #42 on: February 25, 2016, 04:34:28 am »
We might be able to fix the network resume, but something tells  we may flogging a dead horse with the graphics as the Linux SiS drivers are rubbish.

Have you done anything specific to get the graphics working such as modifying your xorg file, like this:
http://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,3051.msg30178.html#msg30178

next time you attempt a hibernate and the wireless is dead after resume .. run this:
Code: [Select]
nmcli nm statusand copy the output to a text file .. then do whatever you need to get a connection again .. then post the output here.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2016, 04:38:01 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Brotherred

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: 11
  • No0b
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Pep 8 on 386, Pep 10 on AMD 64
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #43 on: February 26, 2016, 03:54:15 pm »
As far as the graphics are concerned... I was thinking that after fixing resume, I was going to at some point post a thread about my games flickering. I have that issue but don't see much about it. I bring it up here because I don't know if the two issues are related.

Regards

Sent from my C6530N using Tapatalk

Games like Blob Wars Metal Blob Solid Super Tux, and 0AD all flicker.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2016, 03:56:21 pm by Brotherred »
"Those that don't know pay for it. My currency is pride"

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26437
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Suspend or Hibernate fail
« Reply #44 on: February 26, 2016, 05:31:43 pm »
They're bound to be related .. did I mention the SiS graphics drivers blow chunks in Linux  :-X
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec