Choose style:

Author Topic: old SSD can't wake from suspend  (Read 2720 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1989
  • Karma: 341
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
old SSD can't wake from suspend
« on: January 07, 2016, 01:08:14 pm »
Hi. I'm trying to set up Peppermint 6 on my old Acer Aspire V5 netbook. When I Suspend and resume it never accepts my password as correct (either from netbook keyboard or usb one). If I run i3lock from the menu without Suspend it works fine.

Previously (before a reinstall) I'd removed i3lock without any real problems but when I try it now, a few seconds after resume my browser window will disappear, then the panel disappears and eventually all the desktop icons. If I press ctrl-alt-del nothing will happen and I have to force a power down.

Basically I don't need a screen lock and would prefer an easy option to turn it off. Failing that, how can I remove or disable it without it causing these other problems? Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2016, 10:29:52 pm by murraymint »

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26065
  • Karma: 2841
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2016, 05:47:50 pm »
Have you installed any of the following:-

light-locker
xscreensaver
gnome-screensaver
slock
xlock


?

and how are you entering suspend ?
« Last Edit: January 07, 2016, 05:57:12 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1989
  • Karma: 341
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2016, 06:26:10 pm »
No, I haven't got any of those installed since I don't really want a screen lock. If I suspend it through the session menu or by closing the lid the result is the same.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26065
  • Karma: 2841
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2016, 08:09:32 am »
Hmm .. I'm baffled why removing i3lock should cause any problems.

But just in case it's power-manager related, try switching from mate-power-manager to xfce4-power-manager using the instructions here:
http://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,2907.msg28837.html#msg28837
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1989
  • Karma: 341
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2016, 09:22:24 am »
I don't know if removing it caused these problems, it was impossible to tell though when it wouldn't believe my password and let me continue. I've switched to xfce4 power manager and it still happens. I end up with just my desktop background and launchers that lose their icons if clicked on. If I double-click on one the whole lot disappear.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1989
  • Karma: 341
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2016, 09:54:34 am »
I made a test account with a blank password, reinstalled i3lock and it wouldn't recognise pressing Enter as the right password for that one either.

I've tried a live USB session, it wakes accepting a blank password and then my SSD doesn't show up at all (sda doesn't exist) after resume. This is a "new" used SSD that I've just cloned my system onto. It looks like this is the source of the problem. Any ideas?

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26065
  • Karma: 2841
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2016, 12:14:55 pm »
can you post the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l
and
Code: [Select]
sudo blkid
and the contents of
Code: [Select]
gedit /etc/fstab



The SATA mode in the BIOS is set to AHCI right ?
« Last Edit: January 08, 2016, 12:19:33 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1989
  • Karma: 341
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2016, 12:16:08 pm »
Do you mean after a normal boot or in the live session after suspend when the drive has disappeared?

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1989
  • Karma: 341
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2016, 01:03:15 pm »
Assuming an answer of "normal boot",

Code: [Select]
Disk /dev/sda: 64.0 GB, 64023257088 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 7783 cylinders, total 125045424 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000e4bdb

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1            2048   116791295    58394624   83  Linux
/dev/sda2       116791296   125044735     4126720   82  Linux swap / Solaris

Code: [Select]
/dev/sda1: LABEL="PEPPERBOOK" UUID="66063875-3b5c-4104-92fe-482530e04c6e" TYPE="ext4" 
/dev/sda2: UUID="cb5d6bfe-3f41-4aab-a56c-0ad9a9d03567" TYPE="swap"

Code: [Select]
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
# / was on /dev/sda7 during installation
UUID=66063875-3b5c-4104-92fe-482530e04c6e /               ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=68579020-02c9-43fd-a187-c68b852f975c none            swap    sw              0       0

Yes, AHCI mode is set in the BIOS already.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2016, 01:04:51 pm by murraymint »

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1800
  • Karma: 472
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2016, 03:54:47 pm »
Hi murraymint,

Something is wrong in your system: the disks listed as swap are not matching in the two outputs youhave given (i.e. their UUID numbers are not the same). Whether this could cause your problems? I'm not sure.  :-\
Let's wait for PCNetSpec to reply.

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1989
  • Karma: 341
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2016, 04:02:23 pm »
Hi Slim. I noticed that too and fixed it in fstab. It didn't sort out the problem unfortunately.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26065
  • Karma: 2841
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2016, 06:54:23 pm »
Yeah the first thing you need to do is sort out the UUID for the swap partition (which may or may not be the root of the problem, but needs fixing anyway) .. open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo gedit /etc/fstab
find the line at the bottom that reads:-
Code: [Select]
UUID=68579020-02c9-43fd-a187-c68b852f975c none            swap    sw              0       0
and change it to
Code: [Select]
UUID=cb5d6bfe-3f41-4aab-a56c-0ad9a9d03567 none            swap    sw              0       0
SAVE the file, and exit gedit.

Now REBOOT

Once rebooted, post the output from
Code: [Select]
free -m
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26065
  • Karma: 2841
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2016, 06:57:02 pm »
Hi Slim. I noticed that too and fixed it in fstab. It didn't sort out the problem unfortunately.

What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
free -m
now ?

and have you set a blank password for the regular account too ? .. how ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1989
  • Karma: 341
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #13 on: January 09, 2016, 08:04:05 am »
Code: [Select]
total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          1699        797        901         11         35        367
-/+ buffers/cache:        394       1304
Swap:         4029          0       4029

No, the regular account still has its normal password.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1989
  • Karma: 341
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: i3lock/resume problems
« Reply #14 on: January 09, 2016, 02:27:54 pm »
I've been looking into the issue of SSDs not waking up properly. One thread on Intel SSDs suggested secure erase would solve it. Mine is a Samsung; I tried that and it didn't fix it.

Another thread on a different model of Samsung:

"Samsung 830's also have a problem with sleep on some computers where if you have ever slept the computer then on a normal restart the drive wont be detected. You actually have to remove it, plug it into another computer and power it up and then return it to the original machine."

Not exactly convenient, but it didn't work either.

Incidentally, I ordered two of these used 64GB Samsung drives but they weren't identical. The other one worked fine in my old Advent laptop (not here to try swapping them, unfortunately).