Choose style:

Author Topic: UEFI on Dell Inspiron 15 5000  (Read 2812 times)

Offline AndyInMokum

• Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
UEFI on Dell Inspiron 15 5000
« on: December 07, 2015, 04:57:14 pm »
Hi all, I'm trying to help my son in Florida change the boot order on his Dell Inspiron 15 5000 Series.  It's one these funky UEFI jobs.  I have no experience with these.  Does anyone know what he has to do, so he can fire up a Live USB stick?  It is the 64-bit respin ISO.   What will he have to do to install Peppermint Six  as a dual boot with Windows 10?  Many thanks in advance  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline scifidude79

• Global Moderator
  • Hero
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: UEFI on Dell Inspiron 15 5000
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2015, 06:54:53 pm »
I recommend EasyBCD.  It can be installed in Windows and used to easily modify Windows' bootloader.  You can simply add boot entries for anything and change the boot order.

http://neosmart.net/EasyBCD/

Online PCNetSpec

• Administrator
  • Hero
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2015, 10:03:28 pm »
EasyBCD aint gonna work in UEFI mode .. the boot process is totally different:
https://neosmart.net/wiki/easybcd/uefi/

He'll have to access the boot manager screen .. possibly the F12 key (immediately after turning on the PC)
« Last Edit: December 07, 2015, 10:06:24 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline scifidude79

• Global Moderator
  • Hero
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2015, 10:59:54 pm »