Choose style:

Author Topic: Network disabled (Solved)  (Read 6293 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shamgar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #15 on: December 15, 2015, 02:20:02 am »
dmesg > ~/Desktop/dmesg.txt (I did it without the ">" symbol and it works, is it right?)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/lthegpwnuxk3nfa/dmesg.txt?dl=0

lspci -vnn | grep 1814 (nothing happens after I do it)

The Netbook is usually connected to internet via tethering on the phone

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1777
  • Karma: 469
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #16 on: December 15, 2015, 04:04:53 am »
dmesg > ~/Desktop/dmesg.txt (I did it without the ">" symbol and it works, is it right?)

Hi Shamgar,

No, it does not work (at least not on my computers). Using the correct syntax will produce a text file named dmesg.txt containing the output. That only works if you have the > symbol inserted. Otherwise the output should say that the directory or file does not exist. If you already have a file of the same name then the output will still not go into that file but will just appear in the terminal. Now it is not clear whether your posted file is the output of the recently run command or an output that is perhaps much older and therefore possibly incorrect for the current situation.

Why did you not follow the instructions? You are only making things more difficult.  ::)

Regards,

-- Slim
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 04:13:00 am by Slim.Fatz »
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #17 on: December 15, 2015, 08:17:03 am »
Hi Shamgar, this may help you with copying commands into the terminal.  The forum is set up to make this very simple to do.  Linux is case sensitive.  To reduce the possibility of typographical errors, please left click the Code: [Select] function that is directly above the line with the command to highlight the contents.  Click on the centre mouse button/wheel while the cursor is in the terminal window to paste the contents  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25659
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #18 on: December 15, 2015, 09:00:35 am »
This appears to be the relevant section:-
Code: [Select]
[   19.076351] eeepc_laptop: Eee PC Hotkey Driver
[   19.076378] eeepc_laptop: Hotkey init flags 0x41
[   19.112810] eeepc_laptop: TYPE (2000000) not reported by BIOS, enabling anyway
[   19.142755] eeepc_laptop: PANELPOWER (4000000) not reported by BIOS, enabling anyway
[   19.142775] eeepc_laptop: Get control methods supported: 0x6101713
[   19.143397] ppdev: user-space parallel port driver
[   19.211294] input: Asus EeePC extra buttons as /devices/platform/eeepc/input/input9
[   19.613187] shpchp: Standard Hot Plug PCI Controller Driver version: 0.4
[   19.893836] Bluetooth: Core ver 2.19
[   19.893988] NET: Registered protocol family 31
[   19.893995] Bluetooth: HCI device and connection manager initialized
[   19.894015] Bluetooth: HCI socket layer initialized
[   19.894029] Bluetooth: L2CAP socket layer initialized
[   19.894066] Bluetooth: SCO socket layer initialized
[   19.899503] [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
[   20.119814] intel_rng: FWH not detected
[   20.162889] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x0000000000000828-0x000000000000082F conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000000800-0x000000000000087F (\PMIO) (20140424/utaddress-254)
[   20.162917] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x0000000000000828-0x000000000000082F conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000000800-0x000000000000087F (\_SB_.PCI0.SBRG.PMS0) (20140424/utaddress-254)
[   20.162935] ACPI: If an ACPI driver is available for this device, you should use it instead of the native driver
[   20.162946] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x00000000000004B0-0x00000000000004BF conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000000480-0x00000000000004BF (\_SB_.PCI0.SBRG.GPBX) (20140424/utaddress-254)
[   20.162964] ACPI: If an ACPI driver is available for this device, you should use it instead of the native driver
[   20.162972] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x0000000000000480-0x00000000000004AF conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000000480-0x00000000000004BF (\_SB_.PCI0.SBRG.GPBX) (20140424/utaddress-254)
[   20.162991] ACPI: If an ACPI driver is available for this device, you should use it instead of the native driver
[   20.162997] lpc_ich: Resource conflict(s) found affecting gpio_ich
[   20.372140] leds_ss4200: no LED devices found
[   20.508372] pci 0000:00:02.0: BAR 6: [??? 0x00000000 flags 0x2] has bogus alignment
[   20.508394] lpc_ich 0000:00:1f.0: BAR 13: [io  0x0800-0x087f] has bogus alignment
[   20.508408] pci 0000:00:1e.0: PCI bridge to [bus 05]
[   20.568269] audit: type=1400 audit(1450162545.769:2): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_load" profile="unconfined" name="/sbin/dhclient" pid=447 comm="apparmor_parser"
[   20.568297] audit: type=1400 audit(1450162545.769:3): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_load" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/lib/NetworkManager/nm-dhcp-client.action" pid=447 comm="apparmor_parser"
[   20.568321] audit: type=1400 audit(1450162545.769:4): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_load" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/lib/connman/scripts/dhclient-script" pid=447 comm="apparmor_parser"
[   20.570395] audit: type=1400 audit(1450162545.769:5): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_replace" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/lib/NetworkManager/nm-dhcp-client.action" pid=447 comm="apparmor_parser"
[   20.570434] audit: type=1400 audit(1450162545.769:6): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_replace" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/lib/connman/scripts/dhclient-script" pid=447 comm="apparmor_parser"
[   20.571520] audit: type=1400 audit(1450162545.769:7): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_replace" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/lib/connman/scripts/dhclient-script" pid=447 comm="apparmor_parser"
[   20.612923] pci 0000:00:02.0: BAR 6: [??? 0x00000000 flags 0x2] has bogus alignment
[   20.612945] lpc_ich 0000:00:1f.0: BAR 13: [io  0x0800-0x087f] has bogus alignment
[   20.612960] pci 0000:00:1e.0: PCI bridge to [bus 05]
[   20.620515] audit: type=1400 audit(1450162545.821:8): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_load" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/sbin/ntpd" pid=450 comm="apparmor_parser"
[   20.647054] eeepc_laptop: BIOS says wireless lan is blocked, but the pci device is present
[   20.647065] eeepc_laptop: skipped wireless hotplug as probably inappropriate for this model
[   20.647476] eeepc_laptop: Unable to find port
What does
Code: [Select]
rfkill list
output now ?

and are you SURE there isn't either a physical switch, or key combo to enable/disable wireless ?
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 09:05:13 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Shamgar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #19 on: December 16, 2015, 04:01:39 am »
@ Slim.Fatz
I tried to follow the istructions but it didn't work, that's why I tried to do the command without the ">". I'm clearly a linux newbye and I'm here to learn, so be patient  :) I really appreciate the help PcNetSpec is giving me to solve my problem  :)

@AndyinMokum
Many thanks for the advice, surely it will help  :)

@PCNetSpec
rfkill list
Code: [Select]
0: eeepc-wlan: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
1: eeepc-bluetooth: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
7: hci0: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
8: phy4: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no

Asus 1000h doesn't have any physical switch for Wi-Fi. I don't know if there is any key combo for this

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25659
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #20 on: December 16, 2015, 05:30:53 am »
On the EeePC 1000HAG the wireless key combo is

Fn+F2

You'll see a little wireless symbol on the F2 key (in blue, which means you also have to hit the Function key Fn)

Does that make a difference ? .. you may have to hit it the key combo once or twice .. if I remember correctly it cycles through both off - wireless on - both wireless and bluetooth on - just bluetooth on - and back to both off

« Last Edit: December 16, 2015, 05:37:50 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Shamgar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #21 on: December 17, 2015, 06:53:58 am »
I knew the key combo but when I hit it wirless turn from on to off, but even if it's enabled if I click on the icon on status bar I can't see any wi-fi net to connect  :'(

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25659
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #22 on: December 17, 2015, 08:31:23 am »
Can you post the output from:
Code: [Select]
lsmod
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Shamgar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #23 on: December 18, 2015, 08:42:15 am »
Code: [Select]
Module                  Size  Used by
rndis_host             14097  0
cdc_ether              13977  1 rndis_host
usbnet                 37860  2 rndis_host,cdc_ether
mii                    13654  1 usbnet
hid_generic            12503  0
snd_hda_codec_realtek    70553  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    62931  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_intel          29285  3
snd_hda_controller     29252  1 snd_hda_intel
coretemp               13201  0
rfcomm                 58045  8
snd_hda_codec         120400  4 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_hwdep              13272  1 snd_hda_codec
bnep                   18895  2
snd_pcm                87194  3 snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
joydev                 17113  0
snd_seq_midi           13324  0
snd_seq_midi_event     14475  1 snd_seq_midi
serio_raw              13251  0
snd_rawmidi            25722  1 snd_seq_midi
uvcvideo               71465  0
snd_seq                56592  2 snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_midi
videobuf2_vmalloc      13048  1 uvcvideo
videobuf2_memops       13170  1 videobuf2_vmalloc
videobuf2_core         48344  1 uvcvideo
usbhid                 47035  0
snd_seq_device         14137  3 snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_midi
snd_timer              28648  2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
v4l2_common            15132  1 videobuf2_core
hid                    95946  2 hid_generic,usbhid
videodev              131265  3 uvcvideo,v4l2_common,videobuf2_core
binfmt_misc            13140  1
i915                  808675  5
lpc_ich                16877  0
media                  20899  2 uvcvideo,videodev
btusb                  27649  0
snd                    66670  16 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_pcm,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_seq_device
bluetooth             391253  22 bnep,btusb,rfcomm
drm_kms_helper         55007  1 i915
6lowpan_iphc           18262  1 bluetooth
drm                   255469  7 i915,drm_kms_helper
shpchp                 32143  0
soundcore              14599  2 snd,snd_hda_codec
i2c_algo_bit           13197  1 i915
video                  19475  1 i915
eeepc_laptop           19133  0
parport_pc             32021  0
mac_hid                13059  0
sparse_keymap          13708  1 eeepc_laptop
ppdev                  17391  0
lp                     13299  0
parport                40836  3 lp,ppdev,parport_pc
btrfs                 884344  0
xor                    26221  1 btrfs
raid6_pq               97455  1 btrfs
uas                    22631  0
usb_storage            56817  1 uas
psmouse                99602  0
pata_acpi              12901  0
atl1e                  33010  0

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25659
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #24 on: December 19, 2015, 12:46:32 pm »
Does wireless spring to life if you make sure the wireless switch is set to ON .. then run:
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe rt2800pci
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Shamgar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #25 on: December 22, 2015, 09:01:17 am »
Nothing happened  :'(

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25659
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #26 on: December 22, 2015, 11:23:53 am »
run:
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe rt2800pci
then post the output from:
Code: [Select]
iwlist scan
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25659
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #27 on: December 22, 2015, 12:21:42 pm »
Try this

Shut down the PC and remove the network cable

Leaving the ethernet cable unplugged, switch on the PC, and enter the BIOS .. enable wireless in the BIOS .. save the BIOS setting, and still without the ethernet cable plugged in boot normally.

once booted with no ethernet cable, does wireless work ? .. if not, see if Fn+F2 will enable wireless ?



Does loading the eeepc-wmi module make any difference
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe eeepc-wmi
« Last Edit: December 22, 2015, 12:24:30 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Shamgar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #28 on: December 29, 2015, 05:13:59 am »
iwlist scan:

Code: [Select]
lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.

usb0      Interface doesn't support scanning.

I tried what you suggested but nothing happened.

I noticed everytime I turn wireless on in BIOS then some error messages appear during Peppermint boot


Offline darthlukan

  • Developer
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 27
  • Sith
    • View Profile
    • Brian C. Tomlinson dot com
  • Peppermint version(s): DEV
Re: Network disabled
« Reply #29 on: December 29, 2015, 08:43:40 am »
Try this:

While booted into Peppermint, press the key combination that enables your wifi card. Then run the following precisely as you see it (copy and paste each line if you have to):

Code: [Select]
sudo service networking stop
sudo modprobe eeepc-wmi
sudo modprobe rt2800pci
sudo service networking start

Here's what each command does:

1. Turn off the networking services, this will disconnect you from the internet and any networking software will be disabled because the required services are stopped.
2. Load the eeepc module
3. Load the realtek pci module
4. Start all of the networking software and services again, taking into account the new modules and the hardware being turned on.

Essentially what the above commands do is save you from having to restart your system in order to restart the networking interfaces with the new modules.  If this works, then we know that we need to auto-load those modules (we can walk you through setting those as defaults).

If at any time you get an error with the above commands, please copy and paste the output into a post here.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2015, 12:52:31 am by darthlukan »
Team Peppermint | GPG: 3694569D | Github