Choose style:

Author Topic: Logitech headset volume controls not working  (Read 2396 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline danielson

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Logitech headset volume controls not working
« on: November 12, 2015, 09:37:33 am »
Volume controls on Logitech headset make the "built in audio analog stereo" / "speakers" (no headset option available) move but have no impact on incoming sound to headset.


Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25660
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Logitech headset volume controls not working
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2015, 10:01:27 am »
Can you give us more info please .. such as

Headset model ?

USB or mini Jack ?

and the outout from:
Code: [Select]
aplay -l
and
Code: [Select]
arecord -l
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25660
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Logitech headset volume controls not working
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2015, 10:04:44 am »
In PulseAudio Volume Control, have you tried hitting the little padlock symbol to unlock the left/right volume sliders ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline danielson

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Logitech headset volume controls not working
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2015, 10:22:26 am »
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: 92HD81B1X5 Analog [92HD81B1X5 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Headset [Logitech USB Headset], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

- - - - - - - -

**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: 92HD81B1X5 Analog [92HD81B1X5 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Headset [Logitech USB Headset], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25660
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Logitech headset volume controls not working
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2015, 10:28:55 am »
and the other info ?

and did you try my suggestion ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline danielson

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Logitech headset volume controls not working
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2015, 10:54:15 am »
Have clicked about every icon i could see out there.

The slider doesn't move anywhere now.
Built-in Audio Analog Stereo shows option for Headphones but it has (unplugged) next to it.
Have changed to another usb port but that didn't help either.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25660
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Logitech headset volume controls not working
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2015, 12:56:18 pm »
With the headset plugged in .. go to

menu > Sound & Video > PulseAudio Volume Controls

On the "Output" tab, do you get a second set of volume controls like this:


And what's the model number of your Logitech headset ?
« Last Edit: November 12, 2015, 01:13:19 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline danielson

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25660
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Logitech headset volume controls not working
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2015, 01:51:54 pm »
Three times now I've asked for the headset model .. why are you ignoring the question ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline danielson

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Logitech headset volume controls not working
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2015, 02:34:45 pm »
Sorry! Didn't notice your request friend!
https://www.dropbox.com/s/pyyti75h2qvhkxz/logitech.JPG?dl=0
Don't recall model no., bought it oh, maybe 5 years ago or so.
Has ML213 printed on usb connection.
"Made in China"

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25660
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Logitech headset volume controls not working
« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2015, 02:59:16 pm »
in pulseaudio > Confuguration (tab)

if you disable HDMI .. does that make any difference ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline danielson

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Logitech headset volume controls not working
« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2015, 03:21:48 pm »
Afraid not.

Offline danielson

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Logitech headset volume controls not working
« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2015, 05:33:56 pm »
For the record.
Have wiped away PeppermintOS to try out Chromixium.
Surprise! After following latest tips here, Logitech headset is working just fine!  :)
Took me a good work out to get the HP LaserJet printer to work though.

Chromixium isn't as pretty as Peppermint but sure is quiet.
Much more than any Windows 7 or 10 i've been dealing with on my laptop.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25660
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Logitech headset volume controls not working
« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2015, 09:42:13 pm »
Great stuff, glad you're up and running, even if it's not with Peppermint it's still Linux right ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline danielson

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Logitech headset volume controls not working
« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2015, 03:02:45 am »
To you all the credit PCNetSpec!  ;)

This Logictech headset has always been a pain with other distros as well.
Situation with Peppermint reminds of that with LXLE.

Won't talk about issues with HP LaserJet...

Yup, it's sure good to have friends at Linux!  :)