Author Topic: HP Deskjet F 4210  (Read 1444 times)

Offline Europigeons

• Newly Subscribed
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
HP Deskjet F 4210
« on: October 07, 2015, 02:33:58 am »
Hello,

I am new to Peppermint and linux but happy with it! One problem my HP Deskjet F4210 is not working. Can anyone help me out?

Yours,

Jan

Offline AndyInMokum

• Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: HP Deskjet F 4210
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2015, 04:28:28 am »
Hi Europigeons, welcome to the Peppermint Forum.  It's good to have you aboard  ;D!!  For your HP printer,  you need to install hplip from the repository.  Open a terminal window with the following keystrokes: Ctrl+Alt+t.  Enter the following command into the terminal window:

Tip:  Linux is case sensitive.  To reduce the possibility of typographical errors please click the Code: [Select] function below to highlight the contents. Click on the centre mouse button/wheel while the cursor is in the terminal window to paste the contents.

Code: [Select]
apt install hplip-guiHit enter.  Enter your user password when asked and hit enter again.  Now follow the on screen instructions.

Note: For enhanced security, passwords are entered invisibly.  There is NO indication of any user input.  You may enter an incorrect password 3 times before you have to repeat the action you are trying to apply.

You'll find the, HPLIP Toolbox by navigating to: menu > Preferences > HPLIP Toolbox.  Make sure your printer/scanner is connected to your computer and turned on.  You will be able to configure your printer/scanner from here.  I hope this helps.  Good luck and have fun  ;).

Further reading: http://hplipopensource.com/hplip-web/index.html
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline Slim.Fatz

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran