Choose style:

Author Topic: New Install not seeing AFP networked drive (NAS) (SOLVED)  (Read 2484 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rjmusto

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
New Install not seeing AFP networked drive (NAS) (SOLVED)
« on: May 05, 2014, 10:03:20 am »
Hi,
Have just installed 4 on another machine on a home network. I have a NAS on the network that is sharing using AFP (most other machines are MACs).
This is working fine on a laptop I have running Peppermint 4, but on this new install, it only lists Windows shares under Network Drives. Nothing is listed under AFP.

I guess I am missing a library file or something?

Thanks,
Ralph

inxi output:

System:    Host: ralph-MS-7204 Kernel: 3.8.0-35-generic i686 (32 bit) Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Four
Machine:   System: MEDIONPC product: MS-7204
           Mobo: MICRO-STAR model: MS-7204 version: REV:A Bios: Phoenix version: 6.00 PG date: 10/07/2005
CPU:       Dual core Intel Pentium D CPU (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 2800.00 MHz 2: 2800.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA NV43 [GeForce 6700 XL]
           X.Org: 1.13.3 drivers: (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) FAILED: nouveau Resolution: 1280x1024@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NV43 GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 9.1.7
Audio:     Card: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.8.0-35-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ driver: 8139too
           IF: eth0 state: unknown speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 00:13:d3:b3:84:c2
           Card-2: Ralink RT2570 Wireless Adapter driver: rt2500usb
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: 00:12:bf:52:41:bc
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (1.1% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: ST3250823AS size: 250.1GB
Partition: ID: / size: 46G used: 2.5G (6%) fs: ext4 ID: /home size: 69G used: 184M (1%) fs: ext4
           ID: swap-1 size: 2.15GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap ID: swap-2 size: 2.14GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: No active sensors found. Have you configured your sensors yet? mobo: N/A gpu: 44.0
Info:      Processes: 143 Uptime: 22:08 Memory: 461.4/2015.4MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4
« Last Edit: May 05, 2014, 05:43:14 pm by PCNetSpec, Reason: Marked as (SOLVED) »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25510
  • Karma: 2810
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: New Install not seeing AFP networked drive (NAS)
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2014, 10:32:24 am »
Bit of a guess here, but try a full system update, and possibly install avahi-daemon and afpfs-ng and maybe netatalk
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update
then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get upgrade
then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get distr-upgrade
then REBOOT

then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install avahi-daemon afpfs-ng netatalk
then possibly log off/on
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline rjmusto

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: New Install not seeing AFP networked drive (NAS)
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2014, 03:03:29 pm »
Hi, thanks for that.

I had tried the upgrade earlier - but installing avahi-daemon afpfs-ng netatalk has fixed it.

Solved.

Thanks,
Ralph

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25510
  • Karma: 2810
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: New Install not seeing AFP networked drive (NAS) (SOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2014, 05:44:14 pm »
You're welcome :)

Hope you don't mind but I've marked the FIRST posting in the topic (SOLVED).
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec