Choose style:

Author Topic: [SOLVED] gmusicbrowser  (Read 4160 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2131
  • Karma: 395
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
[SOLVED] gmusicbrowser
« on: September 02, 2015, 06:36:23 am »
Does anyone use this program? When I try to use it with the backend as gstreamer I get "Playing error : Your GStreamer installation is missing a plug-in. at /usr/bin/../share/gmusicbrowser/gmusicbrowser_gstreamer-0.10.pm line 137" I tried the suggestion at http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2220674 but it didn't work.

I can get it to play using mplayer instead after I created an input.conf file for mplayer. Anyone know what the gstreamer problem could be? There are a million plugins for it available through Synaptic but when I tried to install a bunch of them I got an error about unresolved dependencies and it wouldn't do anything.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2015, 08:14:40 pm by murraymint »

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2015, 07:44:01 am »
Hi murraymint, how's it going?  That's strange.  I've just installed gmusicbrowser onto my rig and it's working fine  :-\.  Have you installed the Lubuntu or Xubuntu Restricted Extras?  They provide a whole bunch of extra codexes and fonts that can't be included at installation due to licensing issues.  If you haven't, installing one or the other might help.  The Xubuntu one has a few extra ones I believe.  To install follow these instructions, substituting xubuntu for lubuntu if you want to.  You will be required to accept a EULA twice.  Use the tab key to navigate the options.  Use the spacebar or return key to accept.
Code: [Select]
apt install lubuntu-restricted-extras 
Hit enter, do the password thing if asked.  Hit enter again and follow the on screen instructions.  You can also install LAMELAME is a free software codec used to encode/compress audio into the lossy MP3 file format.  It can't hurt to have it.
Code: [Select]
apt install lame
Hit enter, do the password thing if asked.  Hit enter again and follow the on screen instructions.  Does that make any difference to, gmusicbrowser  ;)?
« Last Edit: September 02, 2015, 07:48:30 am by AndyInMokum »
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2015, 08:41:40 am »
does just opening the app cause that error, or only when you try to play a certain audio file format ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2131
  • Karma: 395
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2015, 08:45:57 am »
Hi Andy. I installed both those packages and wasn't asked about any EULAs. I also added LAME. I get the same error when I try to play a file but now there's also weird behaviour of files disappearing from the playlist one by one until there's none left.

PCNetSpec, most of my files will be MP3s but the extensions are not showing in this program so I can't be 100% sure. The error message only happens when I try to play them using gstreamer, not just from opening the app.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2015, 09:03:37 am »
Okay, I really don't know then.  That's very strange you weren't ask about the EULA because there's proprietary stuff in there.  A shot in the dark would say, the restricted extras weren't installed  :-\.  What's the output, (substitute xubuntu for lubuntu if necessary) from, :
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l | grep lubuntu-restricted-extras
Someone will get back to you with a better idea.  Just one more thought.  Have you done all the post-installation updates and upgrades  :-\?
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2131
  • Karma: 395
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2015, 09:09:28 am »
Code: [Select]
ii  lubuntu-restricted-extras                   60.1                                    all          Commonly used restricted packages (transitional package)
Code: [Select]
ii  xubuntu-restricted-extras                   60.1                                    amd64        Commonly used restricted packages for Xubuntu

I am up to date according to the shield with the tick in it, yes.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2131
  • Karma: 395
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2015, 09:34:46 am »
OK, I figured out why the files were all disappearing: the partition with my music wasn't mounted. And now the gstreamer thing is working, maybe the codecs hadn't kicked in yet somehow. Do I have to mount the partition myself every time (it's on an external drive)? Can't the app do it since it knows where to look for the folder?

Thanks for the assistance!

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2015, 09:51:29 am »
If this external drive is always going to be attached and switched on we can mount it at boot time via fstab (?)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2131
  • Karma: 395
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2015, 10:11:24 am »
It usually is but what would happen if I did that and then forgot to plug it in one time?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2015, 10:40:32 am »
Booting would stall asking you to press a key to continue without mounting that drive
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2015, 11:26:41 am »
If this external drive is always going to be attached and switched on we can mount it at boot time via fstab (?)
Hi murraymint, I'd go for this option.  The process of doing it is really cool and it's a very useful technique to have under your belt  ;)!!
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2131
  • Karma: 395
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2015, 12:47:06 pm »
OK, I've tried to do that and it seemed to have worked with the file manager showing an eject/unmount icon next to the partition name, but gmusicbrowser can't find any of my tunes. What options should I mount the partition with?

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2188
  • Karma: 591
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2015, 01:37:58 pm »
Hi murraymint,

I would think that just having the option "defaults" should work (I don't know about NTFS formats, however: I never use them; but it is so for ext3 and ext4 file systems) as that mounts the drive as rw (read/write).

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2131
  • Karma: 395
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2015, 01:43:44 pm »
Hi Slim. This is what I've got:

Code: [Select]
UUID=172f1655-1111-4a07-9e27-e94bc48f48be /media/tom/music ext2   defaults        0       2

I copied some of it from another entry  (the UUID and file system are correct though) but don't really understand what the 0 and 2 are. The spacing didn't line up with the previous lines because the mount point/path was longer. Does that make any difference?

Also if I go into the dialogue in gmusicbrowser for adding a new folder, I can browse to the one I want. It just doesn't find it in the same place as it did before. I'm stumped.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: gmusicbrowser
« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2015, 02:51:10 pm »
if you open run:
Code: [Select]
nemo /media/tom/music
are you able to see your files in the file manager that opened ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec