Choose style:

Author Topic: Have you tried Wine?  (Read 2404 times)

Offline scifidude79

• Global Moderator
  • Hero
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Have you tried Wine?
« on: August 24, 2015, 02:00:19 pm »
One of the biggest reasons I see for running  a dual boot with Windows and Peppermint (or any Linux, for that matter) is the old, "I only still use Windows because of this program."  I've been there, done that.  In my case, it was software that wouldn't run in Wine.  I'm an amateur CG artist and I used to use a program called Lightwave for my 3D CGI work.  For years, I let that program keep me in Windows.  Unfortunately, it's a slightly different case than some software.  See, I have Lightwave 10, which requires a hardware lock dongle that plugs into the USB port to work properly.  So, you need for the program to be able to access and use the USB port.  Well, Wine doesn't have USB support.  I've tried patching the source code with a USB patch and compiling it and the darn thing still won't find that dongle.  I even tried a demo of a newer version that doesn't use the dongle and it still doesn't work correctly.  So, I finally ditched Lightwave in favor of Blender, which will run on just about any desktop OS on the planet.  That allowed me to finally drop Windows.

Since I switched to Peppermint full time, I've installed a few programs using Wine.  Some are just games that I miss, and I have a couple of utilities that I like that I've found no substitute for.  In my case, I have Nvdiia graphics and running programs full screen on the current version of Wine can be tricky because of scaling issues.  However, I corrected that by simply running everything on Wine in a virtual desktop.