Choose style:

Author Topic: Internet OK; but no network access after router reboot (SOLVED)  (Read 1435 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tcwild

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Six
Two machines, both P6, one laptop the other desktop, both fully updated.

I have a wireless network here (Cisco router) with seven or eight 'devices' connected. This morning we had some indications that a router reset was needed (it had been a month or so), and did that, followed by a reboot for all devices. All of the Win7 machines are fine, as is the Android tablet; but neither of the two P6 machines have network access now. Both have internet access.

EDIT: Opening 'Network' with the File Manager shows a 'Windows Network' icon, and clicking on that icon returns an error dialogue that says:

          Unable to mount location
          Failed to retrieve share list from server: No such file or directory

????

Thanks.

- Ron E.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2015, 06:41:49 pm by tcwild »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26313
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Internet OK; but no network access after router reboot
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2015, 05:29:57 pm »
Are you able to ping the routers IP ?

Is the router acting as a DHCP server ?

What happens if you open your file manager .. Hit Ctrl+L to toggle the location entry .. then go to:-

smb:///
and
smb://workgroup/
and
smb://<ip.of.windows.pc>

Do any of those actually take you anywhere on the Windows network ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline tcwild

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Six
Re: Internet OK; but no network access after router reboot
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2015, 06:16:06 pm »
Are you able to ping the routers IP ?

Yes

Is the router acting as a DHCP server ?

Yes

What happens if you open your file manager .. Hit Ctrl+L to toggle the location entry .. then go to:-

smb:///
and
smb://workgroup/
and
smb://<ip.of.windows.pc>

Do any of those actually take you anywhere on the Windows network ?

I can see all of the other network devices; but executing the 'SMB' lines above results in this error:

Could not display "smb://%3Clp.of.windows.pc%3E/".
Error: Failed to retrieve share list from server: Connection refused
Please select another viewer and try again.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26313
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Internet OK; but no network access after router reboot
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2015, 06:35:56 pm »
No I don't want you to enter
smb://<ip.of.windows.pc>

I want you to replace
<ip.of.windows.pc>
with the ACTUAL IP address of a Windows PC on

eg:
smb://192.168.1.5

Can you also tell me EXACTLY what you see with all 3 locations
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline tcwild

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Six
Re: Internet OK; but no network access after router reboot
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2015, 06:41:10 pm »
turns out this problem was an inconsistency in the way the router configured itself when rebooted.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26313
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Internet OK; but no network access after router reboot (SOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2015, 07:32:13 pm »
Glad to hear you figured it out  .. thanks for the update, and for marking the topic solved :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec