Choose style:

Author Topic: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox  (Read 4118 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline penda2015

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: 4
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 4
Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« on: July 18, 2015, 09:32:44 am »
Now fully installed. My Kodak esp C310 won't work. Need driver and one i had for linux is it right distro? Not labelled as Peppermint. How do i install once downloaded?

secondly firefox wants me to install latest adobe flash. Again which distro is right for P6 and which program do i open it with when downloaded? I can run same programs with Chrome so maybe won't bother.

Any help appreciated. installed P6 to make life smoother and don't want to return to Win7

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2015, 09:55:24 am »
For your printer, open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install -y printer-driver-c2esp
then in the Peppermint menu go to

menu > System  Tools > Printers

and click the "+Add" button.



For flash in Firefox, open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install flashplugin-installer
when that's done . close ALL instances of Firefox, and reopen it.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline penda2015

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: 4
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 4
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2015, 12:45:47 pm »
Thanks half done. The Flash problem is now working but the printer still doesn't print. After running the code in terminal i add printer. Selected the kodak even though it asks me to enter URI. Not sure what that is. Tried a test page but nothing.

For your printer, open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install -y printer-driver-c2esp
then in the Peppermint menu go to

menu > System  Tools > Printers

and click the "+Add" button.



For flash in Firefox, open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install flashplugin-installer
when that's done . close ALL instances of Firefox, and reopen it.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2015, 12:55:58 pm »
Go to
menu > System Tools > Printers
and delete any printers that are listed

close the printers dialog

With the printer powered on and connected via USB .. In Firefox go to:
http://localhost:631
select the "Administration" tab

Click the "Find New Printers" button

is anything found ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline penda2015

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: 4
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 4
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2015, 08:41:50 am »
Hi

Still can't get printer to work? Any ideas?

Offline penda2015

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: 4
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 4
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2015, 08:45:22 am »
No nothing found.

Go to
menu > System Tools > Printers
and delete any printers that are listed

close the printers dialog

With the printer powered on and connected via USB .. In Firefox go to:
http://localhost:631
select the "Administration" tab

Click the "Find New Printers" button

is anything found ?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2015, 10:38:32 am »
You are connecting this by USB cable right ?

with the printer switched on and connected via USB cable, open a terminal and post the output from:
Code: [Select]
lsusb
and
Code: [Select]
lpinfo -v
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline penda2015

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: 4
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 4
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2015, 11:28:57 am »
OK. Its solved now. Many thanks.

Penda

Offline penda2015

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: 4
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 4
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2015, 11:36:19 am »
I can print now but my 3-in-1 printer gives scanning failed message when i scan? Has anyone hadd scanning problems with this model? Its a Kodak ESP C310

Thanks half done. The Flash problem is now working but the printer still doesn't print. After running the code in terminal i add printer. Selected the kodak even though it asks me to enter URI. Not sure what that is. Tried a test page but nothing.

For your printer, open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install -y printer-driver-c2esp
then in the Peppermint menu go to

menu > System  Tools > Printers

and click the "+Add" button.



For flash in Firefox, open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install flashplugin-installer
when that's done . close ALL instances of Firefox, and reopen it.

Offline scifidude79

  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 870
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2015, 11:50:26 am »
How did you go about trying to scan?  Did you try Simple Scan?  Or, does your printer have a control program that allows you to scan?  (mine does, but I don't have a Kodak)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #10 on: July 24, 2015, 12:05:37 pm »
What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
lsusb
and
Code: [Select]
sane-find-scanner
and
Code: [Select]
scanimage -L
and
Code: [Select]
sudo scanimage -L
and
Code: [Select]
scanimage -T
and
Code: [Select]
scanimage -V
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline penda2015

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: 4
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 4
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #11 on: July 24, 2015, 12:48:22 pm »
Hi

I use a simple scan from the 3-in-1 machine itself by selecting the buttons. I can see it is trying to scan but no output  so far

How did you go about trying to scan?  Did you try Simple Scan?  Or, does your printer have a control program that allows you to scan?  (mine does, but I don't have a Kodak)

Offline penda2015

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: 4
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 4
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #12 on: July 24, 2015, 12:55:27 pm »
Thanks, I entered all the commands. It made the right noises but didn't scan anything. Last message "Scan to computer failed"

What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
lsusb
and
Code: [Select]
sane-find-scanner
and
Code: [Select]
scanimage -L
and
Code: [Select]
sudo scanimage -L
and
Code: [Select]
scanimage -T
and
Code: [Select]
scanimage -V

Offline scifidude79

  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 870
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #13 on: July 24, 2015, 01:12:11 pm »
I use a simple scan from the 3-in-1 machine itself by selecting the buttons. I can see it is trying to scan but no output  so far

Are you sure that part of the device works and is still capable of scanning?  IE: have you used it to successfully scan anything recently?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Problems with Kodak printer and Firefox
« Reply #14 on: July 24, 2015, 02:00:06 pm »
Those commands weren't meant to fix anything .. it was a request for further information.

Please post back here EXACTLY what is returned in the terminal after running each of those commands.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec