Author Topic: peppermint 6 - geforce4 Ti4200 - no additional drivers available  (Read 2208 times)

Offline nubipengen

• Newly Subscribed
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
hello everybody,

i am new to peppermint. i just installed it today and found there is no additional driver available for my geforce4 Ti4200 graphics card.
this machine is a pentium 4 pc with 2 gigabytes of RAM. formerly it used nvidia-96 driver on LXLE 12.04.4.

i appreciate any suggestion, thank you in advance.

regards,
Nubipengen

Offline PCNetSpec

• Administrator
  • Hero
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: peppermint 6 - geforce4 Ti4200 - no additional drivers available
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2015, 04:43:33 am »
There is no nvidia-96 driver for 14.04 I'm afraid .. nVidia now consider it "legacy" so they're not going to update it to work with current xorg versions.

That said the open source drivers are now pretty much as good.

Your other options are

a) go back to Peppermint 3 (which is based on 12.04)
or
b) consider it time t upgrade your graphics card .. you can get something MUCH more powerful now for next to nothing ;)
« Last Edit: July 18, 2015, 04:49:15 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Slim.Fatz

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2015, 04:49:56 am »
Hi nubipengen,

Maybe a dumb question from me here (since I do not have any NVidia hardware problems), but: are you having any graphics problems? If so, can you describe them? For example: when using a particular program, or just getting to the Desktop, or what? And what do the problems look like (poor animation, wrong resolution, wrong colors)?  :-\