Author Topic: Screen tearing with video on Lenovo thinkpad x230 i5 with intel hd 4000 (SOLVED)  (Read 7587 times)

Offline moomin

• Newly Subscribed
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Hello, I am completely new to linux, but have been so frustrated with windows, I decided to give Linux a try. After some online research, I thought I would try Peppermint OS. So far my experience has been very positive. Everything has been working well. The only issue I am having is screen tearing when playing videos online, either with Youtube or any other video site.  I was also getting this problem with games, but if I disable desktop effects under the Peppermint Control Center, that stops most of the screen tearing in games.

However the problem still persists online with videos. It is most noticeable when viewing full screen, but doesn't matter if the video is standard or hd (mp4 or webm or flash). I have tried with both Chromium and Firefox browsers and tried disabling and enabling hardware acceleration, but it doesn't make any difference. The laptop has 8GB ram, a 2nd generation i5 processor clocked at 2.6ghz and an integrated intel hd4000 gpu.

Any help would be much appreciated for this. On windows 7, I had the option to enable vsync for the intel card, but can't find any settings for this here. It is really frustrating as it completely ruins the experience of watching videos online.

« Last Edit: July 15, 2015, 05:50:18 am by moomin »

Offline PCNetSpec

• Administrator
  • Hero
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Dunno if this will help but the vsync setting is at

menu > Preferences > Peppermint Control Center > Desktop Effects (tab)

now put a tick in "Synchronize drawing to vertical blank"