Choose style:

Author Topic: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900 [SOLVED]  (Read 8904 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Davidfe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS6 in VB, OS7 in VB, O9OS9 Lap
I am a totally newbie.
I am running OS 6 in Virtual Box on a 64-bit windows 7 machine.
I cannot change the screen resolution to 1600x900 which my monitor and graphics card supports.
Card is GeForce GT630 with current drivers.
OS 6 installed LXRandR 0.1.2 Copyright 2011
Link in help file to http://lxde.org

I have UberStudent in another VirtualBox setup and it correctly handles the graphics card.
It uses Xfce 4.10
 1254x763 resolution is full screen immediately after the initial installation.

Suggestions on how to resolve would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

After unsuccessful applications of the suggestions, I completely removed the VirtualBox
installation using the menu in VirtualBox.

I downloaded the 32-bit version and installed it using the same setting I used
for the original 64-bit installation.  Installing the 32-bit version did not
resolve the screen resolution issue.

I installed the VirtualBox Guest option from the software manager within Peppermint.
That did not resolve the screen resolution.

I installed FireFox and it was interesting to discover that it did recognize
the full resolution of my monitor correctly.  However, it was totally unreadable
with out changing the program font size which rendered it to small to read.
 
Below are the steps to successfully remedy the screen resolution problem.

I did a power off VirtualBox restart.

After your computer reboots.  Enter the following command in a terminal window:
Code: [Select]

apt update && apt install virtualbox-guest-dkms-lts-utopic

If you still receive dependency issues, run this command in a terminal window.
Code: [Select]

sudo apt-get -f install

Totally acceptable full screen and a wee bit small I prefer.

Thanks to all who posted and helped resolve the issues.

If anyone would like the screen captures of how I setup VirtualBox, please
advise. 

Enjoy
« Last Edit: June 26, 2015, 09:52:43 am by Davidfe »

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3033
  • Karma: 562
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2015, 02:23:21 pm »
Hi Davidfe

Now the only doubt I have is will this work in Virtual Box... and if the virtual box is running Nvidia drivers it definately won't - so up to you

There should be two options available to you - install arandr from the Software centre - run it and see if it offers the screen res you require.

No doubt some more techie people than I will come up with a more elegant solution. I had similar problems when using a TV as a monitor yet it could show 1920 x 1200
using xrandr and CVT you can tell your system to display the resolution your monitor can take.

PLEASE REMEMBER you are using your output from the commands you put into your terminal - not mine that are just given as examples of what it should roughly look like


In terminal use
Code: [Select]
xrandr

it will return what display you have and what resolutions you can have.  It will also tell you what the monitor is know as by the system.  ie in my case its DVD-D-1 and HDMI-1 (two displays)

you will then need to use
Code: [Select]
CVT 1600 900

you will get something like
Code: [Select]
zebedee@i5-peppermint ~ $ cvt 1600 900
# 1600x900 59.95 Hz (CVT 1.44M9) hsync: 55.99 kHz; pclk: 118.25 MHz
Modeline "1600x900_60.00"  118.25  1600 1696 1856 2112  900 903 908 934 -hsync +vsync

Now all you need from this is
Code: [Select]
"1600x900_60.00"  118.25  1600 1696 1856 2112  900 903 908 934 -hsync +vsync

please note the removal of the " around the screen size
you next tell yr system that you have this resolution available by typing

Code: [Select]
xrandr --newmode 1600x900_60.00  118.25  1600 1696 1856 2112  900 903 908 934 -hsync +vsync

Then you tell it what screen it applies to - in your case the output of the first xrandr command

Code: [Select]
xrandr --addmode VGA-1 1920x1200_60.00

change VGA-1 to your screen name

then you can tell your screen to use the new resolution
Code: [Select]
xrandr --output VGA-1 1920x1200_60.00

PLEASE REMEMBER you are using your output from the commands you put into your terminal - not mine that are just given as examples of what it should roughly look like

Now the only doubt I have is will this work in Virtual Box... it should but you may have to install virtual box additions.

Will the more technically able members - please remove delete amend as you see fit please - If I am getting it terribly wrong :)

Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P9/10 @ P9 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ @ 2.80GHz - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline scifidude79

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 863
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2015, 02:30:52 pm »
You shouldn't be trying to run proprietary drivers inside of VirtualBox because the OS isn't running on you actual hardware.  It's running on virtual hardware, which is running on your real hardware.  Instead, try this:

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install virtualbox-guest-dkms

That will provide you with the proper kernel modules within VB to run the graphics on the virtual hardware.  Then, as soon as you maximize your window or go fullscreen, the virtual box will automatically resize your desktop to the highest recommended setting for your hardware, or you can manually set it to 1600 X 900.

If I remember correctly, you may need to reboot the virtual machine for this to take effect.

Offline Davidfe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS6 in VB, OS7 in VB, O9OS9 Lap
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2015, 06:57:10 pm »
You shouldn't be trying to run proprietary drivers inside of VirtualBox because the OS isn't running on you actual hardware.  It's running on virtual hardware, which is running on your real hardware.  Instead, try this:

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install virtualbox-guest-dkms

That will provide you with the proper kernel modules within VB to run the graphics on the virtual hardware.  Then, as soon as you maximize your window or go fullscreen, the virtual box will automatically resize your desktop to the highest recommended setting for your hardware, or you can manually set it to 1600 X 900.

If I remember correctly, you may need to reboot the virtual machine for this to take effect.

I appreciate the suggestion.  Below are the results
user-vb-peppermint@uservbpeppermint-VirtualBox ~ $ sudo apt-get inst11 virtualbox-guest -dkms
[sudo] password for user-vb-peppermint:
E: Command line option 'k' [from -dkms] is not known.
user-vb-peppermint@uservbpeppermint-VirtualBox - $ _

a couple of days ago I did install  inxi and run it successfully.

Below are the results
user-vb-peppernlntQuservbpeppermtnt-VtrtualBox - $ inx\
CPU: Single core Intel Core 17 CPU 956 (-UP-) cacli
ocked at 3071.626 MHz
CPU Flags: aplc clflush cmov constant_tsc cx
lahf_ln In mca nice mnx monitor
nsr ntrr nx pae pat pge pnl pse pse36 rdtscp
ssse3 syscall tsc vme
rhnpnn*>rmi nt-.Vi rfrual Rn<

My monitor is a PNP monitor and Win 7 with the graphics card recognizes it correctly as does UberStudent in VirtualBox.

Further suggest would be appreciated.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25459
  • Karma: 2800
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2015, 09:52:32 pm »
@Davidfe

You really should copy/paste these commands, or pay more attention to the syntax before running them
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get inst11 virtualbox-guest -dkms
which is what you entered is nothing like
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install virtualbox-guest-dkms

your version has "install" missing he "a" and the digit 1 where the two letter "l" should be

it also has a space after "guest" where there shouldn't be one.

But hang on a sec and wait for scifidude79 who is currently testing something for you
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline scifidude79

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 863
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2015, 09:53:52 pm »
Speak of the devil.  PCNetSpec just informed me that Peppermint 6 uses the lts-utopic graphics stack, which I didn't know would have an adverse affect on this procedure.  Not only that, but the version in the official 14.04 repos doesn't work with 14.04.2.  But, there's a PPA for that, fortunately.  So, what you probably need to do is this:

Code: [Select]
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:costamagnagianfranco/virtualbox-ppa

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install virtualbox-guest-dkms-lts-utopic

That should fix you up.  I just tested it on a fresh VB install of P6 (running on P6 ;)) and it worked great.  Thanks to Mark (PCNetSpec) for the help on this one.  :)

By the way prior to doing that, my VB screen was locked at 640x480, and my native resolution is 1600x900.  So, 1024x768 isn't as bad as it could be.  ;)
« Last Edit: June 24, 2015, 10:39:08 pm by scifidude79 »

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1012
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2015, 11:42:48 pm »
Hi Davidfe, how's it going?  You might find this little forum tip very useful.  Linux is case sensitive.  It's very IMPORTANT that commands are entered correctly into the terminal window.  To reduce the possibility of typographical errors, please click the Code: [Select] function that's located above the command to highlight the contents.  Click on the centre mouse button/wheel while the mouse cursor is in the terminal window to paste the contents.

Use this perfectly safe and useful command as an example to practice:
Code: [Select]
apt update
You may run this command as many time as you wish.  I hope you find this helpful  ;).
« Last Edit: June 24, 2015, 11:50:07 pm by AndyInMokum, Reason: Additional information »
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline Davidfe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS6 in VB, OS7 in VB, O9OS9 Lap
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2015, 06:26:17 am »
Speak of the devil.  PCNetSpec just informed me that Peppermint 6 uses the lts-utopic graphics stack, which I didn't know would have an adverse affect on this procedure.  Not only that, but the version in the official 14.04 repos doesn't work with 14.04.2.  But, there's a PPA for that, fortunately.  So, what you probably need to do is this:

Code: [Select]
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:costamagnagianfranco/virtualbox-ppa

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install virtualbox-guest-dkms-lts-utopic

That should fix you up.  I just tested it on a fresh VB install of P6 (running on P6 ;)) and it worked great.  Thanks to Mark (PCNetSpec) for the help on this one.  :)

By the way prior to doing that, my VB screen was locked at 640x480, and my native resolution is 1600x900.  So, 1024x768 isn't as bad as it could be.  ;)

GREAT,
Just did the above with only an issue with the last command.

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install virtualbox-guest-dkms-lts-utopic

user-vb-peppermint@uservbpepperntnt-VirtualBox -
sudo apt-get insta
ll virtualbox-guest-dkms-lts-utopic
Reading package "lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
you might want to run 'apt-get -f install' to correct these:
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
virtualbox-guest-dkms-lts-utopic : Depends: virtualbox-guest-utils-1
ts-utopic (>= 4.3.18-dfsg-2ubuntul~trusty3) but it is not going to be
installed
Depends: dkms (>= 2.1.0.0) but it
is not going to be installed
xfce4 : Depends: xfce4-session (>= 4.10.0) but it is not going to be
installed
E: Unmet dependencies. Try 'apt-get -f install' with no packages (or
specify a solution).

As you can see, I do NOT understand [a long learning curve ahead for me] who do the suggested fix.

I truly appreciate the patience for all and the posts above.

Regards,
David


Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1012
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2015, 07:19:31 am »
Hi Davidfe, all you need to do is run the solution the system has given you.
Quote
E: Unmet dependencies. Try 'apt-get -f install' with no packages (or
specify a solution).
Any time you see apt-get, you need to prefix it with, sudo unless you are working as ROOT.  The prefix sudo gives you elevated user privileges.
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get -f install
Enter your password if asked.  That's it  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline Davidfe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS6 in VB, OS7 in VB, O9OS9 Lap
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2015, 07:37:08 am »
Hi Davidfe, all you need to do is run the solution the system has given you.
Quote
E: Unmet dependencies. Try 'apt-get -f install' with no packages (or
specify a solution).
Any time you see apt-get, you need to prefix it with, sudo unless you are working as ROOT.  The prefix sudo gives you elevated user privileges.
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get -f install
Enter your password if asked.  That's it  ;).

Greetings again,

Here is the result of running the above command.

user-vb-peppermint@uservbpeppermint-VirtualBox - S sudo apt-get -f in
stall
Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
[sudo] password for user-vb-peppermint:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Correcting dependencies... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
xfce4-session
Suggested packages:
fortunes-mod
The following NEW packages will be installed:
xfce4-session
9 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 38 not upgraded.
1 not fully installed or removed.
Need to get 0 B/606 k& of archives.
After this operation, 2,669 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] y
(Reading database ... 190023 files and directories currently installe
d.)
Preparing to unpack .../xfce4-session_4.10.1-3ubuntu5_i386.deb ...
Unpacking xfce4-session (4.10.1-3ubuntu5) ...
dpkg: error processing archive /var/cache/apt/archives/xfce4-session_
4.10.1-3ubuntu5 1386.deb (--unDackl:
trying to overwrite '/usr/bin/xflock4', which is also in package pep
permint-default-settings 5.4.2
dpkg-deb: error: subprocess paste was killed by signal (Broken pipe)
Errors were encountered while processing:
/var/cache/apt/archives/xfce4-session_4.10.l-3ubuntu5_i386.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
user-vb-peppermint@uservbpeppermint-VtrtualBox - $
[close]

I genuinely appreciate the detailed help.

Regards,
David

« Last Edit: June 25, 2015, 08:22:00 am by AndyInMokum »

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1012
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2015, 08:10:21 am »
Okay, I suspect you haven't done a full  post-installation upgrade.  If you haven't done this, I highly recommend you do so. 

Since the time when your installation ISO was originally created, the kernel and the installed software packages will have gone through several upgrades.  Peppermint, like other Linux distributions is a very dynamic and rapidly evolving operating system.  Consequently, it needs to be kept as current as possible for optimal performance.   Please open a terminal window with the following keystrokes: Ctrl+Alt+t.  Enter the following commands into the terminal window.

Tip:  Linux is case sensitive.  To reduce the possibility of typographical errors please click the Code: [Select] function below to highlight the contents. Click on the centre mouse button/wheel while the cursor is in the terminal window to paste the contents.

Note: For enhanced security, passwords are entered invisibly.  There is NO indication of any user input.  You may enter an incorrect password 3 times before you have to repeat the action you are trying to execute.

Code: [Select]
apt update && apt upgrade -y
Hit enter and enter your user password when asked.  After that has completed, continue with:
Code: [Select]
apt dist-upgrade -y
Hit enter and enter your user password if asked.

After the upgrade has completed, reboot your machine because there may have been kernel upgrades.

After your computer reboots.  Enter the following command in a terminal window:
Code: [Select]
apt update && apt install virtualbox-guest-dkms-lts-utopic
If you still receive dependency issues, run this command in a terminal window.
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get -f install
I hope this helps  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1012
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2015, 08:24:29 am »
Hi Davidfe, I see that the output you returned is very long.  In future, could you please encapsulate long outputs with the Sp Spoiler function.  This is located in the forum editor, just above the crying  :'( emoticon.  It makes it much easier for people to read and keeps things neat and tidy.  This time Ive done this for you.  Thanks in advance ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25459
  • Karma: 2800
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2015, 09:03:12 am »
OK, let's get rid of that stuck xfce4-session package:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get remove --purge xfce4-session
then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install build-essential dkms virtualbox-guest-dkms-lts-utopic
then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get -f install
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Davidfe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS6 in VB, OS7 in VB, O9OS9 Lap
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2015, 10:10:27 am »
OK, let's get rid of that stuck xfce4-session package:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get remove --purge xfce4-session
then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install build-essential dkms virtualbox-guest-dkms-lts-utopic
then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get -f install

Sorry, I do not understand how to make my post shorter yet...

I ran the above and at the last one this message showed up.

Code: [Select]
Preparing to unpack .../xfce4-session_4.10.1-3ubuntu5_i386.deb ...
unpacking xfce4-sess\on (4.10.1-3ubuntu5) ...
dpkg: error processing archive /var/cache/apt/archives/xfce4-session_
4.10.1-3ubuntu5_i386.deb (--unpack):
trying to overwrite '/usr/bin/xflock4', which is also in package pep
perpiint-default-settings 5.4.2
Jpkg-deb: error: subprocess paste was killed by signal (Broken pipe)
Errors were encountered while processing:
 /var/cache/apt/archives/xfce4-session_4.10.l-3ubuntu5_i386.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)


For now, I am going to remove the vi ifile for peppermint in VirtualBox and do a fresh install.
Which should I install?  32 bit or 64 bit.
Presently the peppermint vdi is only 6GB.
My pc is Win 7 64 bit home premium, 16 GB RAM tons of HD space over multiple internal and external HDs.
My C is 250 GB SSD with 16GB free space which I can free some more up if needed.  swap file is on another smaller
SSD.  No real win 7 issues.  All up to date.

I feel comfortable creating a new install of peppermint 6.  I wish to start with a fresh download.
I appreciate all the above and feel more confident with the high level of support you all are providing.

It will take some time to do between end of month work.

Regards,
David
« Last Edit: June 25, 2015, 12:03:40 pm by AndyInMokum, Reason: Encapsulating output with code function. »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25459
  • Karma: 2800
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Can't Change Screen Resolution from 1024x768 to 1600x900
« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2015, 11:00:38 am »
Before you do that run:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install peppermint-default settings
then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get -f install
and remember, if you ever remove xfce4-session you'll want to reinstall peppermint-default-settings.



If on the other hand you decide to completely redo the VM .. be sure to run a full system update in the Peppermint VM before attempting to install anything from xfce
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec