Choose style:

Author Topic: Peppermint 6 + Steam installation issues [RESOLVED]  (Read 3415 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mattosensei

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Karma: 28
  • Linux with 'L' plates
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Peppermint 6 + Steam installation issues [RESOLVED]
« on: June 06, 2015, 08:22:23 am »
Hi anyone use Steam?

I'm having trouble copying over my old steam library (up to 100 gig, so didn't want to download from scratch). I click the button to play a game and it looks like it will load then disappears and nothing happens.

Have used the 'validate local files' and that works for the game I want to play.

Have tried other games (ostensibly copied over) but you get the usual 'preparing to launch' window for 1 sec then nothing.

Any Steam users advise?

Thanks.

PS This may be in the wrong sub-forum.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2015, 08:46:43 am by mattosensei »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2871
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 6 + Steam installation issues
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2015, 08:33:43 am »
Is anything useful returned in the terminal if you run steam from there ?

What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C display
« Last Edit: June 06, 2015, 08:35:17 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline mattosensei

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Karma: 28
  • Linux with 'L' plates
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Peppermint 6 + Steam installation issues
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2015, 08:51:23 am »
Hi Mark as below:

Code: [Select]
ms-desktop@msdesktop-System-Product-Name ~ $ sudo lshw -C display
[sudo] password for ms-desktop:
  *-display               
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: Pitcairn PRO [Radeon HD 7850]
       vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]
       physical id: 0
       bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
       version: 00
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm pciexpress msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
       configuration: driver=radeon latency=0
       resources: irq:46 memory:e0000000-efffffff memory:f7e00000-f7e3ffff ioport:e000(size=256) memory:f7e40000-f7e5ffff
ms-desktop@msdesktop-System-Product-Name ~ $ ^C

PS Off-topic, but do you know how I change my system name from: ms-desktop@msdesktop-System-Product-Name ?!  :-[

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2871
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 6 + Steam installation issues
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2015, 09:15:17 am »
a) you didn't answer my question about anything useful being returned if you start steam from the termna:
Code: [Select]
steam
try to run your game .. then when it crashes, have a look in that terminal to see if there's any usefful clues why it crashed.

b) You appear to be using the open sourced radeon driver .. is this what you were using previously ?
and
is anything being ofefred to you via
menu > Preferences > Additional Drivers
?

c) Please start a new topic for "Changing a PC's hostname" .. that's not covered by the title of this topic, and the response might be handy for other people ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline scifidude79

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 863
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Peppermint 6 + Steam installation issues
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2015, 01:49:51 pm »
Hi anyone use Steam?

Yes.

What steps did you take to back up and restore your games?

Offline mattosensei

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Karma: 28
  • Linux with 'L' plates
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Peppermint 6 + Steam installation issues
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2015, 04:54:57 am »
Clues to why it crashed are here from the terminal readout:

Code: [Select]
ERROR: ld.so: object '/home/ms-desktop/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/gameoverlayrenderer.so' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded (wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32): ignored.
/bin/sh: 1: /home/ms-desktop/.local/share/Steam/steamapps/common/hotline_miami/hotline_launcher: Permission denied
Game removed: App

I was using the standard open source driver. Have just switched to proprietary but that's not making a difference.

@Scifidude79

I didn't follow the steam software settings. Thought I only needed to copy over a steam folder (.local / shared stuff - mainly the steamapps sub folder which is where all the data was). But that wasn't a good  idea in retrospect!

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2871
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 6 + Steam installation issues
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2015, 07:32:18 am »
Quote
wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32

have you installed 64bit Peppermint Six where you used to have 32bit Peppermint Five ?

what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
uname -a
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline mattosensei

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Karma: 28
  • Linux with 'L' plates
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Peppermint 6 + Steam installation issues
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2015, 08:24:52 am »
Quote
wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32

have you installed 64bit Peppermint Six where you used to have 32bit Peppermint Five ?

what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
uname -a

Hmmm. I'm not sure. I had thought that my setup was PM32 on my netbook and PM64 on this desktop but I do recall doing an INXI readout where someone mentioned it was 32 rather than 64. I thought I'd done a reinstall after that but don't recall. There is only really 1 game I play at the moment (The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth) which is a mere 300 MB install. Think I'll do a clean Steam and then re download stuff, seems like the best way.

Code: [Select]
ms-desktop@msdesktop-System-Product-Name ~ $ uname -a
Linux msdesktop-System-Product-Name 3.16.0-38-generic #52~14.04.1-Ubuntu SMP Fri May 8 09:43:57 UTC 2015 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
ms-desktop@msdesktop-System-Product-Name ~ $


Offline mattosensei

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Karma: 28
  • Linux with 'L' plates
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Peppermint 6 + Steam installation issues [RESOLVED]
« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2015, 08:47:54 am »
Just did re-install of Steam, redownloaded the game and it plays fine.

Marking this as resolved. Thanks!

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2871
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 6 + Steam installation issues [RESOLVED]
« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2015, 09:03:56 am »
No problem :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline scifidude79

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 863
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Peppermint 6 + Steam installation issues
« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2015, 12:00:22 pm »
@Scifidude79

I didn't follow the steam software settings. Thought I only needed to copy over a steam folder (.local / shared stuff - mainly the steamapps sub folder which is where all the data was). But that wasn't a good  idea in retrospect!

Yeah, I can imagine that wouldn't work.  However, using the built in back up and restore function works like a charm.  It didn't at first for Linux, but they fixed it.  It takes a while to do, especially since it looks like your library is considerably larger than mine, but it works.  I'd advise using it in the future.   :D