Choose style:

Author Topic: Where is the Pipe key on an AAO?  (Read 1651 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Where is the Pipe key on an AAO?
« on: April 13, 2015, 06:30:55 pm »
Hi all, this is probably a daft question.  I have an Acer Aspire One ZG5, with a standard QWERTY keyboard  It's a splendid little machine.  Peppermint fits it like a glove.  I can without reservations, recommend this computer to any potential Peppermint user.  There is one thing that is baffling me though.  Where, or how do I find the pipe symbol key  :-\?
« Last Edit: April 13, 2015, 07:33:47 pm by AndyInMokum »
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25725
  • Karma: 2822
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Where is the Pipe key on an AAO?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2015, 05:22:02 pm »
If you're using the GB keyboard layout

Shift+ \

on the US keyboard layout

Shift+(the key just to the left of the bottom of the enter key)
« Last Edit: April 15, 2015, 05:25:34 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Where is the Pipe key on an AAO?
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2015, 06:20:16 pm »
If you're using the GB keyboard layout

Shift+ \

on the US keyboard layout

Shift+(the key just to the left of the bottom of the enter key)

Nope, not on this keyboard.  Shift+Any key doesn't give the pipe symbol.  At installation, I chose British (real) English  :D and a British keyboard  :-\.  Nothing gives a pipe symbol  :(.
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25725
  • Karma: 2822
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Where is the Pipe key on an AAO?
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2015, 06:47:01 pm »
go to

menu > Preferences > Peppermint Control Center > Keyboard & Pointer > Select Keyboard layout

and choose

gb > gb English (UK)

and click Apply

now it should be

Shift+(the key next to the left shift key)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Where is the Pipe key on an AAO?
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2015, 07:25:01 pm »
go to

menu > Preferences > Peppermint Control Center > Keyboard & Pointer > Select Keyboard layout

and choose

gb > gb English (UK)

and click Apply

now it should be

Shift+(the key next to the left shift key)

That's not going to work either.  Here's an image from FleaBay of an identical keyboard, except mine is white.

Click on Image to Enlarge
« Last Edit: April 15, 2015, 07:30:15 pm by AndyInMokum, Reason: Improved image »
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25725
  • Karma: 2822
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Where is the Pipe key on an AAO?
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2015, 07:53:51 pm »
That's not a standard AA1 keyboard .. they should look like this

WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25725
  • Karma: 2822
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Where is the Pipe key on an AAO?
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2015, 07:57:16 pm »
On yours they've put the backslash/pipe key above the enter key .. weird  :-\

it shows the pipe symbol on that key .. what does that give you ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Where is the Pipe key on an AAO?
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2015, 12:58:46 am »
On yours they've put the backslash/pipe key above the enter key .. weird  :-\

it shows the pipe symbol on that key .. what does that give you ?

Yeah, I can't figure it out  :-\.  The plain open key gives me the hash sign.  In combination with, Shift it gives me a tilde.  It's not particularly important.  I can always find it in the, Character Map and copy and paste.  It's just a little inconvenient.  I'm living in a, pipeless world  ;D.
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25725
  • Karma: 2822
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Where is the Pipe key on an AAO?
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2015, 06:40:25 am »
You can enter standard ASCII unicode characters with

Ctrl+Shift+u .. you'll then see u .. then type the ASCII code and hit enter.

ASCII codes can be found here:
http://www.ascii-code.com/

So for |
Ctrl+Shift+u then type 7c then hit Enter .. and the u7c will magically become a | :)



If Ctrl+Shift+u doesn't give you a u .. try Right_Ctrl+Shift+u

You can also do any of these HTML symbols (using their hex code)
http://www.ascii-code.com/html-symbol.php



♠    ♣        sorry, just playin™  :)



Only problem is Ctrl+Shift+U in this forums editor box just wants to underline stuff which is a pain ::)
works in the Firefox search box though ✓
« Last Edit: April 16, 2015, 07:06:06 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec