Choose style:

Author Topic: [SOLVED] brightness adjust not working  (Read 2130 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bondbelgium

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
  • Peppermint enthusiast
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM5 32-bit
[SOLVED] brightness adjust not working
« on: March 06, 2015, 02:54:53 am »
Hello,

I have PM5 running smoothly on a aspire one D257 netbook.
Only (minor) issue: adjusting brightness (with FN keys) is not working.
The OSD shows up but brightness stays the same.
xgamma commands do the trick but I want the FN-keys to do it.
FN-key speaker volume is working, but without OSD.
All other FN commands also work.
I didn't have this issue while running PM4.

What to do?
« Last Edit: March 31, 2015, 12:19:04 pm by bondbelgium »

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: brightness adjust not working
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2015, 04:52:45 pm »
Hi bondbelbeligum, how's it going?  I had a similar issue with my Fujitsu Siemens AMILO li3710.  I installed this brightness controller.  It works great on my machine.  How to install Brightness Controller GUI.  I hope this helps - have fun  ;)!
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline bondbelgium

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
  • Peppermint enthusiast
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM5 32-bit
Re: brightness adjust not working
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2015, 05:14:12 pm »
Hi,

I installed this 'brightness controller GUI' succesfully and was able to adjust brightness with the sliders.
But then again: xrandr --output LVDS1 --brightness 0.7, already adjusted the brightness, before installing the GUI, so did the xgamma commands.
So the issue is not that brightness cannot be adjusted, it's the FN-key command that is not working on PM5.
Well, it's working because the OSD displays changing brightness, but the brightness is not adjusting...
« Last Edit: March 06, 2015, 05:16:25 pm by bondbelgium »

Offline mattosensei

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Karma: 28
  • Linux with 'L' plates
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: brightness adjust not working
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2015, 12:37:42 pm »
Hello,

I have PM5 running smoothly on a aspire one D257 netbook.
Only (minor) issue: adjusting brightness (with FN keys) is not working.
The OSD shows up but brightness stays the same.
xgamma commands do the trick but I want the FN-keys to do it.
FN-key speaker volume is working, but without OSD.
All other FN commands also work.
I didn't have this issue while running PM4.

What to do?

Hi, I had the same issue (several years back) on my Samsung NC10 netbook (which came with WinXP where the FN keys worked fine). However, I could never adjust brightness properly after moving the netbook to Linux until I did a bios update which sorted the problem out. Possibly something to look into.

Offline dreis911

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 5
Re: brightness adjust not working
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2015, 08:04:23 pm »

Offline bondbelgium

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
  • Peppermint enthusiast
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM5 32-bit
Re: brightness adjust not working
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2015, 12:10:08 pm »
[SOLVED] http://itsfoss.com/fix-brightness-ubuntu-1310/, does the trick!
The Acer Aspire One D257 has an intel graphics card.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2015, 12:18:46 pm by bondbelgium »

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26281
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: [SOLVED] brightness adjust not working
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2015, 12:33:32 pm »
Thanks for posting the solution .. much appreciated :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec