Choose style:

Author Topic: Broadcom bcm4311 don't work (SOLVED)  (Read 2143 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gpxel19

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 5
Broadcom bcm4311 don't work (SOLVED)
« on: February 22, 2015, 10:07:41 pm »
Hello friend.
I'm a new user in this forum and I hope I have written in the right place.
I experienced an issue after installing peppermint 5.
The driver wlan does not start and gives me an error at power
"b43-phy0 ERROR: firmware b43/ucode5"
how do I fix? please help me
« Last Edit: February 28, 2015, 08:52:07 pm by gpxel19 »

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4876
  • Karma: 1036
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Broadcom bcm4311 don't work
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2015, 04:39:21 am »
Hi gpxel19, welcome to the Peppermint forums  8) !  Okay lets try this first.  Make sure your computer is physically connected to the internet with an ethernet cable.  Open a terminal window with the following keystrokes: Ctrl+Alt+t.  Enter the following command into the terminal window.

Tip:  Linux is case sensitive.  To reduce the possibility of typographical errors, please use the Code: [Select] function below to highlight the contents. Click on the centre mouse button/wheel while in the terminal window to paste the contents.
Code: [Select]
apt update && apt dist-upgrade -y
Hit enter and enter your user password.  Hit enter again.  The upgrade process may take some time to complete.  So don't panic  :D .

Note: For enhanced security, passwords are entered invisibly.  There is NO indication of any user input.  You may enter an incorrect password 3 times before you have to repeat the action you are trying to apply.

Reboot your machine.  Does your Wifi now work?  If it does not work, reconnect the ethernet cable.  Open a terminal window with the following keystrokes: Ctrl+Alt+t and enter the following command:
Code: [Select]
apt install linux-firmware-nonfree -y
Hit enter.  If asked, enter you user password and hit enter again.  Log out and back in.  Does your Wifi now work?  I hope this helps  ;)
« Last Edit: February 23, 2015, 09:11:51 am by AndyInMokum »
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline gpxel19

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 5
Re: Broadcom bcm4311 don't work
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2015, 12:03:48 pm »
hello friend! Thank you for your answer.

I've tried it, but the driver are ever switch off! :'(

And when i write the installation package nonfree driver the system respond:

Lettura elenco dei pacchetti... Fatto
Generazione albero delle dipendenze       
Lettura informazioni sullo stato... Fatto
linux-firmware-nonfree è già alla versione più recente.
0 aggiornati, 0 installati, 0 da rimuovere e 0 non aggiornati.


do you have another solution?

THank you!
« Last Edit: February 24, 2015, 12:05:38 pm by gpxel19 »

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4876
  • Karma: 1036
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Broadcom bcm4311 don't work
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2015, 04:37:48 pm »
Hi gpxel19, that output means that you have, linux-firmware-nonfree already installed.  Can you please post the outputs from the following commands:

Note: Could you please encapsulate long outputs with the Sp Spoiler function.  This is located in the forum editor, just above the crying  :'( emoticon.  It makes it much easier for people to read and keeps things neat and tidy.
Code: [Select]
inxi -F
and
Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C network
;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2871
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Broadcom bcm4311 don't work
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2015, 05:08:35 pm »
can you also post the output from:
Code: [Select]
lsusb
and
Code: [Select]
lspci -vnn | grep -i net
and
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l | grep firmware-b43-installer
« Last Edit: February 24, 2015, 05:10:22 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline gpxel19

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 5
Re: Broadcom bcm4311 don't work
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2015, 08:51:30 pm »
Hello friends,
thank you for your answer and helped!
But I've solved it!  :)
I have install from the package manager b43 drivers and after the reboot the driver worked perfectly!
Thank you very much  ;) ;) ;)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2871
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Broadcom bcm4311 don't work (SOLVED)
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2015, 09:02:25 pm »
As you've marked the topic solved, it would be handy for future searchers if you said what you installed to make it work.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline gpxel19

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 5
Re: Broadcom bcm4311 don't work (SOLVED)
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2015, 10:59:34 pm »
I connect my laptop with an ethernet cable and I opened the software manager.
I install three package:
1) b43fwcutter:
2) firmware-b43-installer
3) firmware-b43legacy-installer.

I don't try to install only one package but there aren't problems after the setup of all of this.
thank you

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2871
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Broadcom bcm4311 don't work (SOLVED)
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2015, 08:17:27 am »
TVM :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec