Choose style:

Author Topic: Logitech Harmony 350 [SOLVED]  (Read 3184 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1011
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Logitech Harmony 350 [SOLVED]
« on: January 16, 2015, 08:02:08 am »
Hi everyone, how's it going?  I have too many remote controls lying around.  I figured it is time to get an all in one device.  The Logitech Harmony 350 seems to fit the bill nicely.  All of my devices including the Raspbmc box are compatible.  The only issue I can see is programming it from a Linux computer as they are not supported.  I found a workaround on the Ubuntu website.  Unfortunately,  It is for 12.04. http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=781059&page=2.  I was wondering I anyone out there has had any experience with these devices and would this workaround work with Peppermint Five as it is based on 14.04?  I could use the wife's Window's machine but that is like raising the white flag of surrender  :'(.  I want to avoid this at all costs.  Plus touching a Windows machine burns the fingers  :D.  Any advise is much appreciated - thanks guys  ;).
« Last Edit: January 16, 2015, 01:25:10 pm by AndyInMokum »
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: Logitech Harmony 350
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2015, 08:58:02 am »
Hahaha Sorry I am still laughing at your wife's windows and your fingers...  well ya know what they say, if you must touch a windows machine may I suggest wearing gloves to protect your fingers...  See i am opposite of you, if I knew the windows machine could do the job, and I had to ask how to do it on a linux machine, I would go right to the windows machine and do the job, instead of asking how to do it in linux...  make sense?
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1011
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Logitech Harmony 350
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2015, 09:39:17 am »
Oh yes, I know where you are coming from and logic says that's the right course of action.  Its the condescending look I'll get when I ask to borrow her laptop and the, "I thought your machine could do everything"- Brrrr!  That's what I'm trying to avoid  :D
« Last Edit: January 16, 2015, 10:02:41 am by AndyInMokum »
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: Logitech Harmony 350
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2015, 09:59:28 am »
Ahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa I see...   LOL    ;)

Actually you could always boot a hirens boot cd up using the mini windows XP then setup your device with XP...   :P
Since XP is on a cdrom I doubt it would be dangerous to do...  ;)
« Last Edit: January 16, 2015, 10:01:11 am by rjm65 »
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1011
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Logitech Harmony 350
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2015, 10:05:36 am »
That's a thought.  I'll have to check that out - thanks  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: Logitech Harmony 350
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2015, 10:27:40 am »
Hirens can boot in DOS, Mini XP, or linux environments...  :)
here it the download page link
http://www.hirensbootcd.org/download/
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24444
  • Karma: 2698
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Logitech Harmony 350
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2015, 11:33:11 am »
Am I missing something here ? .. both concordance and congruity are in the default repos  :-\
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install congruity concordance

Here's a quote from the congruity website:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/congruity/

Quote from: f1she4rs
***** [Five Stars]

Excellent application. It actually works better than the official windows client for my remote and devices. Also it has finally meant that I can stop relying on a Windows Virtual Machine (which I always felt bad about).

« Last Edit: January 16, 2015, 11:45:09 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: Logitech Harmony 350
« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2015, 11:51:30 am »
There ya go, a linux solution for you andy... 
I know nothing about these remotes or what they need but it looks like Mark found your answer for you...   ;)
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1011
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Logitech Harmony 350
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2015, 01:24:31 pm »
Cheers guys, that's the confirmation I was looking for.  I found one of these beasts on FleeBay in the US cheaper than I can get here in The Netherlands.  That's including postage   :o.   More importantly, I don't have to go begging to borrow the Windows machine.  So, bish, bash, bosh - job's a good'un.  Thanks again  ;)!!
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.