Author Topic: 3 Newbie1Kenobi Questions  (Read 1965 times)

Offline mepperpint

• Newly Subscribed
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 5
3 Newbie1Kenobi Questions
« on: December 23, 2014, 11:28:49 am »
Greetings,

I'm a lifelong Mac user that recently had to learn Windows 8.1 so that my wife could use a fashion industry CAD program.  So I started playing with VirtualBox, which lead me to Elementary OS and has no had me drift over here.  I'm learning that the more you play with distros the more you learn in general about Linux.   I'll be honest and say that OS X rules the group, but Linux really humiliates Windows 8.1... even with classic shell installed.

Anyhoo --

-- you know that cross platform feature which allows a user to expand or contract a system window diagonally?  It's in the corners of any window?  In Peppermint it's almost always unavailable.  I'm always forced to either stretch a window taller or wider, but never both at the same time. 

Is this a bug or do I have a setting wrong?

One other thing -- I wanted to try to install Calligra into Peppermint.  I keep reading it's a KDE thing but am uncertain of what that means.  Does it mean I need some sort of KDE package installed in Pep before Calligra can be installed?

thanks in advance for any and all help

Offline rjm65

• Veteran
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: 3 Newbie1Kenobi Questions
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2014, 02:00:48 pm »
I had the same problem after installing Pep 5 seems there is a bug in the corners of window resizing, but I found changing my theme to another one solved that issue I use the old CRUX window theme and all is fine...  you can change them clicking your menu button and then Preferences and then Customize look and feel...  good luck with the other two questions I am sure somebody will be around shortly to lend a hand....  :)