Choose style:

Author Topic: I'm confused about non-pae and pae <SOLVED>  (Read 3225 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MNFrozenfish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 14
  • Smile! - It makes people wonder what you're up to.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin-64 bit
I'm confused about non-pae and pae <SOLVED>
« on: March 31, 2014, 10:41:37 pm »
:-[
I'm confused, does Peppermint 4 require pae. I am confused because I tried to install zentyal-3.4-i386 inside a VirtualBox, it failed saying I was running a non-pae system.
My machine specs are:
Code: [Select]
[spoiler]System:    Host: todd-Latitude-D830 Kernel: 3.8.0-35-generic i686 (32 bit) Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Four
Machine:   System: Dell product: Latitude D830
           Mobo: Dell model: 0UY141 Bios: Dell version: A05 date: 11/05/2007
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 Duo CPU T7500 (-MCP-) cache: 4096 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 800.00 MHz 2: 800.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA G86M [Quadro NVS 140M]
           X.Org: 1.13.3 drivers: (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) FAILED: nouveau Resolution: 1920x1200@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NV86 GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 9.1.7
Audio:     Card: Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel Sound: ALSA ver: k3.8.0-35-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN [Kedron] Network Connection driver: iwl4965
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 00:1d:e0:08:29:29
           Card-2: Broadcom NetXtreme BCM5755M Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express driver: tg3
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: 00:1d:09:a9:2d:05
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 120.0GB (4.8% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: Hitachi_HTS72201 size: 120.0GB
Partition: ID: / size: 37G used: 5.4G (16%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 47.5C mobo: N/A gpu: 64.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 155 Uptime: 1:00 Memory: 851.7/4037.9MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4
todd@todd-Latitude-D830 ~ $ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor: 0
vendor_id: GenuineIntel
cpu family: 6
model: 15
model name: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T7500  @ 2.20GHz
stepping: 11
microcode: 0xb3
cpu MHz: 800.000
cache size: 4096 KB
physical id: 0
siblings: 2
core id: 0
cpu cores: 2
apicid: 0
initial apicid: 0
fdiv_bug: no
hlt_bug: no
f00f_bug: no
coma_bug: no
fpu: yes
fpu_exception: yes
cpuid level: 10
wp: yes
flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm ida dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority
bogomips: 4388.96
clflush size: 64
cache_alignment: 64
address sizes: 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

processor: 1
vendor_id: GenuineIntel
cpu family: 6
model: 15
model name: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T7500  @ 2.20GHz
stepping: 11
microcode: 0xb3
cpu MHz: 800.000
cache size: 4096 KB
physical id: 0
siblings: 2
core id: 1
cpu cores: 2
apicid: 1
initial apicid: 1
fdiv_bug: no
hlt_bug: no
f00f_bug: no
coma_bug: no
fpu: yes
fpu_exception: yes
cpuid level: 10
wp: yes
flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm ida dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority
bogomips: 4388.96
clflush size: 64
cache_alignment: 64
address sizes: 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

[/spoiler]

TIA
« Last Edit: April 25, 2014, 08:36:37 pm by MNFrozenfish »

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24432
  • Karma: 2697
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: I'm confused about non-pae and pae
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2014, 05:21:08 am »
Peppermint 4 32bit has a PAE kernel

But your Core2 Duo is most definitely PAE capable.

As your CPU flags show the pae flag, and you're running a PAE kernel. Virtualbox is either being plain stupid, or most likely it's set to emulate a non-PAE CPU (is it possible to change the emulated CPU in virtualbox ?).

BTW, your CPU also supports hardware accelerated virtualization (VT-x) so you should be able to run 64bit virtual machines (this is supported by the vmx CPU flag)

http://ark.intel.com/products/29761/intel-core2-duo-processor-t7500-4m-cache-2_20-ghz-800-mhz-fsb

Effectively what I'm saying is your CPU can run any kernel .. 32bit non-PAE, 32bit PAE, and 64bit .. on top of that it can also run 64bit in a VM .. so this is a Virtualbox issue, not a CPU issue.

The other odd thing here is that the zentyal ISO mentions i386, so I'd expect it's a non-PAE kernel to begin with ???

Maybe try the zentyal 64bit version (if there is one)
« Last Edit: April 01, 2014, 05:36:07 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline MNFrozenfish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 14
  • Smile! - It makes people wonder what you're up to.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin-64 bit
Re: I'm confused about non-pae and pae
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2014, 07:22:59 am »
Thanks for the response. You confirmed what I suspected, now I need to dig into Virtual Box some more. It has always been a very reliable and easy tool in the past. I'll mark this solved and when I learn more I'll post my findings.

Edit-- I did some looking into Virtual Box settings and there is a check box under the System > Processor tab for Extended Features: Enable PAE/NX.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2014, 10:13:00 am by MNFrozenfish »