Choose style:

Author Topic: Synaptic Package Manager Using Application Launch Bar (SOLVED)  (Read 2859 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3725
  • Karma: 294
  • Soy un huevo que adora Peppermint.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin (64-bit)
Synaptic Package Manager Using Application Launch Bar (SOLVED)
« on: January 02, 2015, 10:06:30 pm »
Hello Team Peppermint,

This a simple report:

When I try to launch our Synaptic Package Manager using our Application Launch Bar, I'm notified with this message:  Starting "Synaptic Package Manager" without administrative privileges   You will not be able to apply any changes, but you can still export the marked changes or create a download script for them.

Although I do not understand what it means by downloading script, I do know what it means when it says I will not be able to apply any changes.  Obviously, I placed this application in Peppermint 5's Application Launch Bar so that I could apply some changes.

I consider this to be a bug within Peppermint 5, and I thought I should notify Team Peppermint about this oddity.

Thank you,

perknh
« Last Edit: January 03, 2015, 07:16:37 am by perknh »
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters...
-- AndyInMokum

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24432
  • Karma: 2697
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
How did you add the Synaptic Package Manager icon to the Application Launcher Bar lxpanel applet ?

Because I just tried it and it worked flaw;essly from my Application Launcher Bar lxpanel applet.

it's as if your launcher is not running "synaptic-pkexec" as the command, but just "synaptic" which doesn't elevate the privileges (so it opens "read-only" as it doesn't have permission to make any system wide changes)

I'm guessing starting Synaptic from your Application Launcher Bar doesn't prompt for a password ?
« Last Edit: January 02, 2015, 10:51:26 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1011
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Hi perknh, it worked flawlessly for me too.  When you open: Panel Preferences > Panel Applets > Application Launch Bar and edit.  Do you have two Synaptic Package Managers listed?  If you do, click on the upper one.  You will see displayed in the bottom margin: Exec = synaptic.  Click on the bottom one and displayed in the bottom margin is: Exec = synaptic-pkexec.  This is the one you need to use as it will present you with the password login box.  Remember, Synaptic requires elevated, (sudo) privileges to function.  I hope this helps - oh yes, Happy New Year mate  ;)!!
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3725
  • Karma: 294
  • Soy un huevo que adora Peppermint.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin (64-bit)
Synaptic Package Manager Using Application Launch Bar (SOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2015, 07:14:28 am »
Well, thank you, PCNetSpec, and AndyInMokum!

Yes, I do have two Synaptic Package Managers listed, and, yes, I've been using the top one -- thinking the repeat listing was minor bug too.  I can see I was wrong about that!  ::)

I added the Application Launch Bar using the Add/Remove Panel Items command for the lower panel.  I then added the Application Launch Bar, which initially gives me an empty space to the right of the End Session button.  I then move this empty application to the left, near my Menu button.  I then begin populating the space with my most commonly used tools.  Adding the lower Synaptic Package Manager to my Application Launch Bar has given me a working Synaptic Package Manager and has solved this problem for me -- so there is no actual bug here.  :)

Thank you both very much, and best wishes for the New Year to all at Peppermint forum too!

perknh
« Last Edit: January 03, 2015, 07:18:18 am by perknh »
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters...
-- AndyInMokum

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1011
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Synaptic Package Manager Using Application Launch Bar (SOLVED)
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2015, 07:42:24 am »
Great to know its now working for you  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3725
  • Karma: 294
  • Soy un huevo que adora Peppermint.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin (64-bit)
Re: Synaptic Package Manager Using Application Launch Bar (SOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2015, 08:45:36 am »
Thank you, AndyInMokum  ;)

Yes, Application Launch Bar Settings did the old double entry trick on me.  Pick the top entry saying Synaptic Package Manager and you lose, but pick the bottom entry saying Synaptic Package Manager and you win!  ;D

Actually I now see what they are trying to do with the two entries.  A parent, or a supervisor, gets administrative privileges.  Whereas the kid, or the worker bee, gets to check off all he or she wants, but nothing more.  Mommy, daddy, or the boss, gets to make the final decision.
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters...
-- AndyInMokum

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24432
  • Karma: 2697
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Synaptic Package Manager Using Application Launch Bar (SOLVED)
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2015, 08:55:41 am »
Well spotted Andy .. I hadn't noticed there were two (nor had I noticed it tells you the Exec= line), I guess I just got lucky when I tried it :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1011
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Synaptic Package Manager Using Application Launch Bar (SOLVED)
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2015, 09:36:09 am »
 ;)
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: Synaptic Package Manager Using Application Launch Bar (SOLVED)
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2015, 09:49:21 am »
this happened to me on other distros when i changed their default DE over to LXDE...  I just had to edit the properties and add the command behind synaptic to get the pword box to open again... 
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40