Choose style:

Author Topic: Using Wicd?  (Read 4289 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26454
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #15 on: November 19, 2016, 11:02:30 am »
How about
Code: [Select]
rfkill block wifi
and to unblock
Code: [Select]
rfkill unblock wifi
or for just wireless LAN (might leave bluetooth enabled)
Code: [Select]
rfkill block wlan
and to unblock
Code: [Select]
rfkill unblock wlan
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2173
  • Karma: 589
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #16 on: November 19, 2016, 02:36:23 pm »
Hi,

I have disabled NetworkManager and am now using Wicd (but without a fixed IP address) and my total boot time (according to systemd-analyze) went from approx. 22 seconds with NetworkManager to approx. 32 seconds with Wicd:-\

I'll try using a fixed IP address and see if I can at least reach the speed of NetworkManager -- otherwise it's going to be "Good-bye, Wicd."  >:(

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2124
  • Karma: 392
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #17 on: November 19, 2016, 03:09:43 pm »
How about
Code: [Select]
rfkill block wifi

When I was trying this something went wrong and networking was completely broken. I managed to reinstall NM from a downloaded copy and now I'm using it with this in my .profile script:
Code: [Select]
nmcli r wifi off
sudo service network-manager restart
which is working at the moment so we'll see how that goes...

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26454
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #18 on: November 19, 2016, 04:51:14 pm »
I also think WiCD slows boot .. at least it did (for me) when I tried it a few months ago.

It wasn't so much that it slowed booting, but that it was still trying to connect when I got to the desktop (which didn't seem any sooner) so it was longer before I could use wireless.

And when I set up network automounts via fstab that same "longer to connect" issue definitely slowed booting.
(the only positive was the automounts were less trouble to set up in the first place with wicd apparently taking systemd out of the equation)
« Last Edit: November 19, 2016, 04:55:25 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2173
  • Karma: 589
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #19 on: November 21, 2016, 12:15:51 am »
Well, I set wicd and my router to use a static IP address, but it is still taking the same amount of (extra) time to finish the boot process. I also tried using the alternative wpa_supplicant drivers but no difference.  :'( This is all unfortunate since I really like the wicd interface.

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26454
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2016, 07:54:43 am »
WiCD seems better/faster for some but not all, so isn't a universal panacea .. pity because it could have been considered for the respin or PM8 if it were.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2016, 08:11:50 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec