Choose style:

Author Topic: Using Wicd?  (Read 4294 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nomko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: -8
  • Linux User
    • View Profile
    • Easy tips for Linux
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 5
Using Wicd?
« on: November 18, 2014, 03:19:00 pm »
Hi,

After installing Peppermint, can i use the Wicd application over the standard network-manager application? IF so, which packages do i need to remove?

Thanks!
ASUS P5KPL-AM*Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8200*4 GiB ram*nVidia GeForce 9500GT*Realtek RTL8101/8102E*Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7200A*HDD:Samsung HD501LJ/HD103SI*Sitecom X5-N600 Router

My Linux website

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1011
  • Karma: 310
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2014, 03:26:58 pm »
Yes you can use it and vindsl is the person who can help you with that he runs wicd on his machine...  he should chime in shortly...  :P
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2014, 04:15:07 pm »
Follow the instructions for Gnome/Unity here:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WICD



In reality, there's no need to remove networkmanager .. the system will be more than happy with both installed .. just configure your network connections via WiCD instead of NetworkManager, and if you choose delete the nm-applet.desktop autostart file



One last thing .. for some reason the WiCD icon ends up in the "Internet" section ogf the menu
If you want it elsewhere, just say where you'd like it and I'll tell you how to move it :)
« Last Edit: November 18, 2014, 07:43:18 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Online VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5722
  • Karma: 1077
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2014, 06:22:13 pm »


If you don't mind me quoting myself... this will save a lot of typing:   :D



0.o   You've summoned the Kraken in me...

To give you a little insight, I'm a 'network-manager' hater (heretofore referred to as NM) from way back.

Accordingly, take anything I say, regarding NM, with a grain of salt.  Most ppl would be wise to ignore my recommendation -- it's in the 'advanced user' realm.  That said...

The first thing I do, on any Linux distro, is purge NM and install WiCD.  Why?  Because WiCD rules, and NM drools IMO.

Over the years, I can count a handful of times when the NM daemon (in various stages of development) actually worked for me, e.g. the things I do on computers --and NM did NOT spontaneously  disconnect my machines from the outside world.  This includes both wired and wireless connections, on a variety of machines, platforms, and OSs -- Peppermint included, on both desktop and mobile devices.  Bottom line:  NM sucks.

So, what is the answer, you may ask?  WiCD

WiCD detractors will tell you it's an old front-end, no longer under development, and so forth, and so on.  And, they're right, but... in my world view, that is a good thing -- because, once you get WiCD setup correctly, it_just_works.  Period.  Exclamation point!  And, nobody is going sneak up behind you and change WiCD, while you're not looking.  Personally, I hope they never update it.

Anyway, I'll stop my rant now.  There is probably someone out there that likes NM and hates WiCD, and I don't want to get a flame war started.

If you feel adventuresome, PCNetSpec wrote a great toot over here: http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=5916

It wisely deals with the overlooked vagaries that will confront you, when installing WiCD on a modern Ubu distro, such as Peppermint -- up to and including (dare I say) P5.

What I do is open Synaptic --> do a search for WiCD --> and install every WiCD package, except for 'wicd-kde'

Then, go to Mark's tutorial (linked above) and follow it step-by-step.

Offline nomko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: -8
  • Linux User
    • View Profile
    • Easy tips for Linux
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 5
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2014, 06:20:57 am »
Thanks everybody!

The reason why i want Wicd is that i prefer Wicd over the "standard" Gnome network manager. Wicd is more configrable and gives me a better overview of my network connections.

I'll try that tutorial!
ASUS P5KPL-AM*Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8200*4 GiB ram*nVidia GeForce 9500GT*Realtek RTL8101/8102E*Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7200A*HDD:Samsung HD501LJ/HD103SI*Sitecom X5-N600 Router

My Linux website

Online VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5722
  • Karma: 1077
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2014, 06:24:56 am »
Wicd is more configurable and gives me a better overview of my network connections.


Exactly!


Have fun...   ;)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2014, 09:10:12 am »
I disagree with both of those statements (particularly the "more configurable" one), but each to their own. ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline nomko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: -8
  • Linux User
    • View Profile
    • Easy tips for Linux
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 5
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2014, 03:41:43 pm »
I disagree with both of those statements (particularly the "more configurable" one), but each to their own. ;)

Can you pls. explain your statement. Why do you disagree.
ASUS P5KPL-AM*Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8200*4 GiB ram*nVidia GeForce 9500GT*Realtek RTL8101/8102E*Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7200A*HDD:Samsung HD501LJ/HD103SI*Sitecom X5-N600 Router

My Linux website

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2014, 06:15:47 pm »
OK....

Quote from: nomko
Wicd is more configrable

NM has available plugins that allow easy configuration of things like mobile dongles, openvpn, pptp tunnels, etc.


NM can configure IPv6 addresses

Let me ask a question .. What can be configured in WiCD that cannot be done in NM ?

Quote from: nomko
and gives me a better overview of my network connections.

I can think of ZERO connection info that can be gleaned from WiCD that NM doesn't also give you (yet NM also gives info connections using IPv6 addresses) .. OK the layout's different but that's just personal preference.



There's a reason WiCD is no longer in development .. it  was superseded by NetworkManger :)
« Last Edit: November 19, 2014, 06:21:12 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2014, 09:02:18 pm »
tried to install wiccd but didn't understand it.
there was the wifi icon with the too monitors but than another
one next to it with a ! and i had no idea what it was.

is there a special way you need to set it up to work with just wifi?
i do think the nm applet is a bit temperamental so im not opposed to trying
something else provided i can get the results i way.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2014, 09:04:31 pm by iamesperambient »
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline nomko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: -8
  • Linux User
    • View Profile
    • Easy tips for Linux
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 5
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2014, 06:05:44 pm »


NM has available plugins that allow easy configuration of things like mobile dongles, openvpn, pptp tunnels, etc.

And were to find these plugins?
ASUS P5KPL-AM*Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8200*4 GiB ram*nVidia GeForce 9500GT*Realtek RTL8101/8102E*Optiarc DVD-RW AD-7200A*HDD:Samsung HD501LJ/HD103SI*Sitecom X5-N600 Router

My Linux website

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2014, 07:11:08 pm »
And were to find these plugins?

Try searching in the Synaptic Package manager for network-manager
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Online VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5722
  • Karma: 1077
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2015, 10:45:51 pm »
UPDATE: 12-OCT-2015

Well, blow me down !!!

I just installed WiCD on Peppermint 6 Respin and I didn't have to jump through any hoops.   :o

At one point during the install, a dialogue box popped up and asked me which network I wished to use.  'VinDSL' was the only option, so I checked the box, and clicked 'OK'.  Bada bing.  Baba boom !!!

I purged NM, rebooted, and WiCD worked fine.  I edited the prefs, added custom globals, static IP, preferred DNS servers, and so forth - and that was it.

Took less time to switch to WiCD than typing this post.  YaY !!!

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2015, 08:02:55 am »
Cool, I guess they fixed it upstream then because I don't remember doing it  :-\
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2131
  • Karma: 395
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: Using Wicd?
« Reply #14 on: November 19, 2016, 09:28:56 am »
I switched to WiCD on my Lubnuts 16.10 install on an Atom TV box. It seems to have solved the network tangling that was happening each time with NM.

I had this in my .profile script to disable WiFi on boot, since if all's well there should be an ethernet connection I'd rather use.
Code: [Select]
nmcli r wifi off

Obviously this doesn't work with WiCD so is there an equivalent command I can use to turn off the WiFi adapter now?