Author Topic: The 'obligatory' forum members Introduction topic  (Read 72701 times)

Offline esquire

• Newly Subscribed
  • Some weird guy
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 respin
Re: The 'obligatory' forum members Introduction topic
« Reply #390 on: January 02, 2020, 09:47:13 am »
Hello everyone!

I first tried Linux back in college (around 2009), and while I found it interesting, I just never put any serious effort into learning, and I pretty quickly dropped it for Windows.

I've just been getting back into it. I work in IT (basically as tier 1/2 tech support), and I haven't been learning much outside the basics. I wanted something that I could learn at home that would allow me to become more specialized, so I decided to learn more about Linux.

About 6 months ago, I started listening to the Going Linux podcast, and I've started branching out and listening to more. Came across Destination Linux, heard about Peppermint, and decided that's what I'd like to try. Only now getting around to setting it up though.

Also have done a few small Linux-related personal projects and am working on more. So far, I've set-up a Pi-Hole in my home and got an OpenVPN server hosted on Digital Ocean. Now working toward finding a Honeypot or IDS system to put on my home network as well as setting up a "Code-Server" and a Bitwarden server on Digital Ocean as well.

I'm excited to become a part of the Linux community and learn more about the cool and interesting technology/operating system/philosophy/way of life that is Linux and the Open Source movement.
How do signatures work again?

Offline zebedeeboss

• Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
« Reply #391 on: January 02, 2020, 12:09:35 pm »
Hi esquire,