Choose style:

Author Topic: No Wi-Fi? (Solved)  (Read 11639 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline _tuter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: 11
  • 18 yrs old - Distro Hopper - Peppermint Lover
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint OS 6!!
No Wi-Fi? (Solved)
« on: April 01, 2014, 11:19:06 pm »
Hi,
I have recently taken a leap of faith and successfully installed peppermint os 4 on my hard drive but for some reason i am not able to connect to my wifi network at home. I am able to see the network, i know for sure the password i am entering is correct, but still i am not able to actually connect to it.

If anyone has any suggestions, i am all ears!! Lol  :)
« Last Edit: May 23, 2014, 02:36:30 pm by _tuter, Reason: Solved »
:) _tuter :)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25497
  • Karma: 2807
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2014, 12:35:59 am »
You will be prompted for 2 passwords

The first one for authentication wants your Peppermint password

The second one requires your WEP/WPA(2) wireless key.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline _tuter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: 11
  • 18 yrs old - Distro Hopper - Peppermint Lover
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint OS 6!!
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2014, 12:59:36 am »
I know, although I still haven't figured out how to get connected, I have typed in my peppermint os pw and then proceeded to type in the WPA2 pw and it still refuses to connect, what it does is it says something to the effect of "configuring" but all it does is keep prompting me for both my peppermint os pw and my wireless router pw. Thanks for your help though!! Any other suggestions?  :P :) :P
:) _tuter :)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25497
  • Karma: 2807
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2014, 06:34:14 am »
Can you connect to your router with an ethernet cable and do a full system update by opening a terminal and running:

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update
then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get upgrade
then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
Then REBOOT.

After rebooting, does wireless work ?



If not, please post the output from these commands:

Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C network
and
Code: [Select]
lspci -vnn | grep -i net
and
Code: [Select]
lsusb
and
Code: [Select]
iwconfig
and
Code: [Select]
ifconfig
and
Code: [Select]
iwlist scanning
and
Code: [Select]
rfkill list
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline _tuter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: 11
  • 18 yrs old - Distro Hopper - Peppermint Lover
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint OS 6!!
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2014, 10:27:31 am »
I dont have access to my router as its not mine im sharing with a neighbor   :-\, is there anything else i can do to help fix this problem?

Thanks,
_tuter
:) _tuter :)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25497
  • Karma: 2807
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2014, 11:05:41 am »
I don't know yet ;)

I'll need the output from those commands to identify the wireless adapter and drives being used .. can you copy the output to a text file, then transfer that text file to the PC you're using now .. then post the output.

Did wireless work when you booted to the LiveCD/LiveUSB ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline _tuter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: 11
  • 18 yrs old - Distro Hopper - Peppermint Lover
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint OS 6!!
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2014, 11:45:00 am »
Hi,
Here are the results from the commands! Hope they help!

jesse@jesse-MS-6566 ~ $ sudo lshw -C network
[sudo] password for jesse:
  *-network               
       description: Ethernet interface
       product: RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
       vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
       physical id: 2
       bus info: pci@0000:03:02.0
       logical name: eth0
       version: 10
       serial: 00:c0:a8:8a:39:14
       size: 10Mbit/s
       capacity: 100Mbit/s
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
       configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.28 duplex=half latency=32 link=no maxlatency=64 mingnt=32 multicast=yes port=MII speed=10Mbit/s
       resources: irq:18 ioport:ac00(size=256) memory:dfefff00-dfefffff
  *-network
       description: Wireless interface
       physical id: 1
       bus info: usb@2:2
       logical name: wlan0
       serial: e8:4e:06:10:2c:83
       capabilities: ethernet physical wireless
       configuration: broadcast=yes driver=rtl8192cu driverversion=3.8.0-33-generic firmware=N/A link=no multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bgn
jesse@jesse-MS-6566 ~ $ lspci -vnn | grep -i net
03:02.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ [10ec:8139] (rev 10)
jesse@jesse-MS-6566 ~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 18a5:0304 Verbatim, Ltd
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0a12:0001 Cambridge Silicon Radio, Ltd Bluetooth Dongle (HCI mode)
Bus 002 Device 011: ID 04e8:6860 Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd GT-I9100 Phone [Galaxy S II], GT-P7500 [Galaxy Tab 10.1]
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 0bda:8176 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8188CUS 802.11n WLAN Adapter
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
jesse@jesse-MS-6566 ~ $ iwconfig
pan1      no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr=2347 B   Fragment thr:off
          Power Management:off
         
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

jesse@jesse-MS-6566 ~ $ ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:c0:a8:8a:39:14 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:9380 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:9380 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:743980 (743.9 KB)  TX bytes:743980 (743.9 KB)

pan1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr f6:69:fb:7e:6d:40 
          inet addr:10.1.234.1  Bcast:10.1.234.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::f469:fbff:fe7e:6d40/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:468 (468.0 B)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr e8:4e:06:10:2c:83 
          inet6 addr: fe80::ea4e:6ff:fe10:2c83/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:58 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:58 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:6554 (6.5 KB)  TX bytes:8990 (8.9 KB)

jesse@jesse-MS-6566 ~ $ iwlist scanning
pan1      Interface doesn't support scanning.

wlan0     No scan results

lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.

jesse@jesse-MS-6566 ~ $ rfkill list
0: hci0: Bluetooth
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no
1: phy0: Wireless LAN
   Soft blocked: no
   Hard blocked: no
jesse@jesse-MS-6566 ~ $

:) _tuter :)

Offline _tuter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: 11
  • 18 yrs old - Distro Hopper - Peppermint Lover
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint OS 6!!
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2014, 11:55:07 am »
i realized that my access point was not found at furst so here it is when its found with the command.

wlan0     Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:22:6B:4E:1C:A9
                    Channel:6
                    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality=61/70  Signal level=-49 dBm 
                    Encryption key:on
                    ESSID:"Elliot"
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                              24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Bit Rates:6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
                    Mode:Master
                    Extra:tsf=000002416cb8a153
                    Extra: Last beacon: 16296ms ago
                    IE: Unknown: 0006456C6C696F74
                    IE: Unknown: 010882848B962430486C
                    IE: Unknown: 030106
                    IE: Unknown: 2A0104
                    IE: Unknown: 2F0104
                    IE: Unknown: 32040C121860
                    IE: Unknown: DD7E0050F204104A0001101044000102103B00010310470010138140001DD211B29FFFC67E816B4BFB102100074C696E6B73797310230006526F7574657210240007575254353447321042000C4353563031483841303639341054000800060050F204000110110011576972656C6573732D4720526F75746572100800020088
                    IE: Unknown: DD090010180203F4000000
                    IE: WPA Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK

lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.

:) _tuter :)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25497
  • Karma: 2807
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2014, 12:35:40 pm »
OK it seems you probably need to install the proprietary realtek driver .. problem is there is no way to do this with out an internet connection.

Have you got a different wireless adapter we can use to install the drivers for this one ?

Try this .. I doubt if it will work, but worth a shot....

Open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe -r rtl8192cu
then
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe rtl8192cu swenc=1
If there are any errors post them here .. if not, will wireless connect now ?
(be aware this will NOT survive a reboot, but if it works we can make it permanent.



BTW, you never answered my question - did wireless work when booted to the LiveCD/LiveUSB ?
« Last Edit: April 02, 2014, 01:19:34 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline _tuter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: 11
  • 18 yrs old - Distro Hopper - Peppermint Lover
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint OS 6!!
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2014, 12:57:14 pm »
jesse@jesse-MS-6566 ~ $ sudo modprobe -r rtl8192cu
[sudo] password for jesse:
jesse@jesse-MS-6566 ~ $ sudo modprobe -r rtl8192cu swenc=1
FATAL: Module swenc=1 not found.
jesse@jesse-MS-6566 ~ $




No. i don't have any other adapters, but here is the outcome.

:) _tuter :)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25497
  • Karma: 2807
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #10 on: April 02, 2014, 01:17:41 pm »
My mistake  :-[ .. try:
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe rtl8192cu swenc=1

[EDIT]

Fixed above too
« Last Edit: April 02, 2014, 02:34:18 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline _tuter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: 11
  • 18 yrs old - Distro Hopper - Peppermint Lover
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint OS 6!!
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2014, 01:29:02 pm »
This time there was no error , but wifi still doesn't work.
:) _tuter :)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25497
  • Karma: 2807
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2014, 01:55:38 pm »
I don't think there's much we can do without another adapter that works, a cabled connection, or access to the router.

Did the wireless work when you booted the LiveCD/LiveUSB ?
« Last Edit: April 02, 2014, 02:27:45 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #13 on: April 02, 2014, 02:03:10 pm »
is there no way to download the proprietary drivers he needs onto a usb stick then transfer them and install them?
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25497
  • Karma: 2807
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: No Wi-Fi?
« Reply #14 on: April 02, 2014, 02:07:43 pm »
No .. as they need compiling, he would also require the kernel headers and build-essential packages and their dependencies.

Installing those offline would be a dependency nightmare.

[EDIT]

Did the wireless work when you booted the LiveCD/LiveUSB ?  <-- any particular reason this remains unanswered  even though its been asked 3 times ?
« Last Edit: April 02, 2014, 02:33:49 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec