Choose style:

Author Topic: [SOLVED] ATA3 errors [SOLVED]  (Read 2787 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline robertsala

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 8
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
[SOLVED] ATA3 errors [SOLVED]
« on: October 03, 2014, 05:53:54 pm »
Hi guys,

At boot I'm getting a long list of ata3 errors. I'm starting to think the hard drive is dying on me. After the error list has completed, it continues slowly to the Peppermint boot splash followed by the NVIDIA splash and finally to the desktop. Normally, the modern hard drives do an excellent job at alienating the bad blocks. However, I can't quite determine if it may be more software related. The grub looks normal. Nothing out of order. What code can I type to share my results. I've already backed up everything in case it should become more problematic.

Purchased new hard drive.....
« Last Edit: December 21, 2014, 03:22:18 pm by robertsala »

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5130
  • Karma: 936
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: ATA3 errors
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2014, 06:05:04 pm »
Might try:

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install smartmontools
Followed by (assuming sda): 

Code: [Select]
 sudo smartctl -a /dev/sda

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1012
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: ATA3 errors
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2014, 10:21:59 am »
Hi robertsala.  I see that the output you returned is very long.  In future, could you please encapsulate long outputs with the Sp Spoiler function.  This is located just above the crying  :'( emoticon.  It makes it much easier for people to read and keeps things neat and tidy.  This time Iíve done this for you.  Thanks in advance ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5130
  • Karma: 936
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: ATA3 errors
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2014, 01:19:15 pm »
Short test looks fine, but the long test isn't completing -- HDD is spinning down -- user intervention or whatevs.


Might want to try this (assuming sda):

Code: [Select]
sudo smartctl -t long /dev/sda

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25100
  • Karma: 2779
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: ATA3 errors
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2014, 10:40:17 am »
If /var/cache/apt/ has suddenly gone walkabout there's obviously something seriously wrong with your system .. Possibly either HDD or RAM.

What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
ls /var/cache/apt

Or were you trying to open synaptic whilst something else had a lock on package management .. such as Software Manager, or the Update Manager, or GDebi ?

You can only have one application using apt at a time.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2014, 10:47:38 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline robertsala

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 8
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
[SOLVED] Re: ATA3 errors [SOLVED]
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2014, 11:18:06 am »
Spoke to soon, back to same problem. Error opening synaptic, click on google chrome does nothing, etc...

Bad hard drive... Purchased new hard drive....
« Last Edit: December 21, 2014, 03:20:32 pm by robertsala »