Author Topic: Peppermint 3 runs desktop high resolution; Peppermint 5 stuck at 640x480  (Read 2470 times)

Offline brook.monroe

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 3,5
I've compared my PM3 settings to PM5--no addition drivers, video memory set to 128MB.  If I edited something in the PM3 configuration it's so long ago that I no longer remember.   ???  What am I missing?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 3 runs desktop high resolution; Peppermint 5 stuck at 640x480
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2014, 07:17:49 am »
In PM5, what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
uname -aand
Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C display
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline brook.monroe

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 3,5
Re: Peppermint 3 runs desktop high resolution; Peppermint 5 stuck at 640x480
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2014, 09:10:24 am »
user@user-VirtualBox ~ $ uname -a
Linux user-VirtualBox 3.13.0-29-generic #53-Ubuntu SMP Wed Jun 4 21:02:19 UTC 2014 i686 i686 i686 GNU/Linux
user@user-VirtualBox ~ $ sudo lshw -C display
[sudo] password for user:
  *-display UNCLAIMED     
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: VirtualBox Graphics Adapter
       vendor: InnoTek Systemberatung GmbH
       physical id: 2
       bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
       version: 00
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: vga_controller bus_master
       configuration: latency=0
       resources: memory:e0000000-e7ffffff

[/font]

Also interesting (to me, anyway): the monitor is 'default monitor' on PM5 but VBOX0 on PM3.  I'm going to keep looking...been too long since I played with this, and I get out of practice too easily.   :-[
« Last Edit: September 20, 2014, 09:12:57 am by brook.monroe »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 3 runs desktop high resolution; Peppermint 5 stuck at 640x480
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2014, 10:03:09 am »
So peppermint 5 is running in virtualbox ? .. might have been helpful to mention that.

What's the Host OS ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline brook.monroe

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 3,5
Re: Peppermint 3 runs desktop high resolution; Peppermint 5 stuck at 640x480
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2014, 10:55:11 am »
Yes, it would have--and an earlier unpublished draft of the message said that.  The fact didn't make it into this draft, unfortunately.  This is running on 64-bit Windows 7 Professional, SP1--as is the Peppermint 3, also running in VirtualBox.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 3 runs desktop high resolution; Peppermint 5 stuck at 640x480
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2014, 11:04:52 am »
Have you installed the Virtualbox "extension pack" in Win7

and the "Guest additions" in the Peppermint 5 VM ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline brook.monroe

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 3,5
Re: Peppermint 3 runs desktop high resolution; Peppermint 5 stuck at 640x480
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2014, 11:24:57 am »
I'd done the former but not the latter.  The Guest Additions gets me up to 1280x960, which is good enough until I set up full-screen mode.  Thanks for the reminder!