Author Topic: Newbie & partions LVM or Gparted???  (Read 161 times)

Offline pollywog

• Newly Subscribed
  • New To PeppermintOS
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Newbie & partions LVM or Gparted???
« on: October 08, 2020, 08:59:41 pm »
Downloaded Peppermint_LVM  knowing nothing but thinking great a pre-insatalled partition tool ! Use it to install a os for everyone & let them bug-out their own  system without destroying mine, hacks&viruses included (how does that work?). Then searches about "disk partition linux"  brought many mentions of Gparted.  Dear Peppermint friends, for my purpose what would you suggest LVM or Gparted. As a novice i like things that are in the "Keep it simple stupid " echelon.
Thanks for reading this.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2020, 09:04:04 pm by pollywog »

Offline Slim.Fatz

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Newbie & partions LVM or Gparted???
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2020, 02:19:03 am »
Hi pollywog,

I sorry to say this but your question does not make much sense -- it sounds like you are mixing apples & onions due to not really knowing much about linux. I am not trying to insult you, but rather to inform you that you should first inform yourself about, for example, disk partitioning, package names and package functions before downloading and trying out system tools that could end up bricking your system.  ;)

So, for example: there is no Peppermint version known as Peppermint_LVM nor is there even a package known as Peppermint_LVM. Please tell us the correct name for what it is that you downloaded or tell us where you found it.