Author Topic: Synaptic Package Manager asks for password  (Read 107 times)

Offline KEP3

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Synaptic Package Manager asks for password
« on: July 30, 2020, 08:39:28 pm »
I want to run the update manager but synaptic keeps asking for a password. I entered the system password  but no go, Joe. How does one change the password or otherwise get rid of it?

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2343
  • Karma: 616
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Synaptic Package Manager asks for password
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2020, 02:59:42 am »
Hi KEP3,

Two questions:

1.) Do you require a password to login to the desktop?

2.) Have you at some time created a superuser (admin) account?

Looking at your previous posts in this forum I noticed that you have had problems with your password several times in the past. In particular, the issue in your last posts before this thread (from Feb. 24 & 25, 2020) was apparently never resolved -- or at least you never indicated that it had been resolved. And, if it had been resolved, you never indicated how you managed to resolve it. Not knowing these things makes it very difficult for us to assist you because your previous actions might have resulted in changes to your system that we need to know about in order to intelligently assist you with your current issue. This is why users should always mark their issues as (SOLVED) when the issues have been solved, and also indicate the steps they made to solve the issue.  ;)


Regards,

-- Slim
« Last Edit: July 31, 2020, 03:24:04 am by Slim.Fatz »
Respect science, respect nature, respect each other.

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline KEP3

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: Synaptic Package Manager asks for password
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2020, 11:22:30 am »
Sorry about not posting as resolved. Completely forgot. Yes, the other password problem was resolved.

No, I do not have a password to the desktop. I do have to jump thru hoops on my HP laptop to get to Peppermint. On my desktop I just selected the OS at startup.
No, I have not set up a superuser / admin account.

Next?

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2343
  • Karma: 616
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Synaptic Package Manager asks for password
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2020, 01:09:23 pm »
Hi KEP3,

Since you are not required to enter a password to login to the desktop & you have never set up an extra superuser/admin account, could it be that what you think is the system password actually is not the system password?  :-\

You can check this by doing the following: open a terminal and enter

Code: [Select]
sudo gedit /etc/fstab
This will ask for your (system) password. If what you enter results in the text editor opening the fstab file then your (system) password is correct (do not change this file in any way if it opens -- just close the editor).

Regards,

-- Slim
Respect science, respect nature, respect each other.

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome